Isuru and Shehara shine in the drawn game

U19 Division 1 Schools Cricket Tournament 2023/24


Rain played a massive role in two games of the U19 Division I Schools Cricket Tournament 2023/24 without much action on Friday (15th December).

Moratu Maha Vidyalaya vs Zahira College, Colombo

A U19 traditional two-day encounter between Zahira College, Colombo and Moratu Maha Vidyalaya ended in a draw today in Moratuwa. Zahira College batted first after winning the toss but were blown away for 110 in 48.4 overs.

Skipper Mohammed Ijaz top scored with a 41-ball 27 while Salman Refai (24) and Pawan Jayawardana (13) built the highest partnership of the innings, adding 30 runs for the 8th wicket when they were in a spot of bother at 78/7.

Isuru Fernando produced a stellar performance with the ball in hand as he claimed 5 wickets for just 28 runs, while Sudarshana Suwaris and Nishitha Fernando each bagged a couple of wickets.

Moratu Maha Vidyalaya lost one of their openers early in the innings as Salman Refai castled Hasidu Gimsara for an 11-ball duck. But then, it was all about the 91-run unbroken stand between Deneth Sithumina and Shehara Fernando until the rain stopped play in the post-lunch session.

Fernando, the chief scorer for the college from Moratuwa, clinched an unbeaten fifty while Sithumina hit 35 runs undefeated.

De Mazenod College, Kandana vs St. Anne’s College, Kurunegala

A Tier A two-day match between De Mazenod College and St. Anne’s College commenced today at De Mazenod College Grounds. Having asked to bat first, St. Anne’s College was able to bat for just 36.1 overs on day 1 due to the consistent rain.

Earlier, Savin Chanthula shattered the stumps of the opposite captain, Buddhima Nandasiri, before Kushan Subasinghe (44) and Vageesha Ransinghe (25*) put on a half-century stand, making 66 runs for the 2nd wicket.

Nicalo Sharon ran Subasinghe out at the non-striker’s end to break that partnership, and soon after, rain arrived in Kandana, which stopped play for the rest of the day 1.

Brief Scores:

Zahira College, Colombo 110 (48.4) Mohammed Ijaz 27, Umar Imran 26, Salman Refai 24, Isuru Fernando 5/28, Sudarshana Suwaris 2/10

Moratu Maha Vidyalaya 93/1 (29.1) Shehara Fernando 54*, Deneth Sithumina 35*, Salman Refai 1/14

Match Drawn

St. Anne’s College, Kurunegala 80/2 (36.1) Kushan Subasinghe 44, Vageesha Ranasinghe 25*, Savindu Chanthula 1/26

Day 1 stumps.