Teams confirmed for IPL 2022 Playoffs

Indian Premier League 2022


Royal Challengers Bangalore secured the last spot in the IPL playoffs as Mumbai Indians ended Delhi Capitals’ race last night (21st May).

Coming into the 69th game of IPL, two teams (Royal Challengers Bangalore & Delhi Capitals) were in a race to win the last spot in the playoffs. Delhi Capitals needed to win against Mumbai Indians to qualify while a loss would propel RCB into the playoffs at their expense.

Rishabh Pant’s side lost to Mumbai Indians by 5 wickets allowing Royal Challengers Bangalore to seal the final IPL playoffs spot. Royal Challengers Bangalore registered 8 wins in 14 games, while Delhi finished with 7.

Read More : Rajapaksa returns; maiden call-ups for Wellalage and Pathirana

Prior to the fourth-place battle between Royal Challengers Bangalore and Delhi Capitals, three teams: Gujarat Titans, Rajasthan Royals and Lucknow Super Giants had booked their places in the playoffs.

Gujarat Titans who topped the points table with 10 wins of 14 games will meet the 2nd placed Rajasthan Royals (9 wins of 14 games) in Qualifier 1 on the 24th of May at Eden Gardens in Kolkata.

The third placed Lucknow Super Giants who registered 9 wins in the league stage, will meet Royal Challengers Bangalore in the eliminator on the 25th of May at Eden Gardens in Kolkata.

Read : Fixtures announced for Australia ‘A’ tour of Sri Lanka

Playoffs Schedule

  • Qualifier 1 – Gujarat Titans vs Rajasthan Royals | 24th May – 7.30 PM | Eden Gardens, Kolkata
  • Eliminator – Lucknow Super Giants vs Royal Challengers Bangalore | 25th May – 7.30 PM | Eden Gardens, Kolkata
  • Qualifier 2 – Winner of Eliminator vs Loser of Qualifier 1| 27th May – 7.30 PM | Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad
  • Final – Winner of Qualifier 1 vs Winner of Qualifier 2 | 29th May – 8.00 PM | Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad