With just a day remaining in the all island aquatic championship the leaderboard saw no changes at the end of day 03 with Mahamaya, St. Joseph’s and Lyceum Wattala still in the lead.

Taking a look at the girl’s schools performance during the day, Mahamaya is still in the lead with 389 points having increased the gap from ysterday between themselves and the school in second place, Visakha Vidyalaya which is challenging closely with 371.5 points.

Visakha looking to turn the tables on Mahamaya at All Island Aquatics Championship

At the conclusion of the second day of the All Island…

At the end of day 03, swimmers from Mahamaya Girls School Kandy dominated winning gold in their respective events. Uththama Silva won the U17 400 LC Meter Freestyle event with a timing of 5:00.08 while NethmiGunasekara was placed first in the U11 200 LC Meter IM clocking in at 3:17.57. Maheshika Hewage also won her event which was the U17 200 LC Meter Butterfly with a timing of 2:48.87.

The boy’s division of the tournament saw swimming giants St. Joseph’s College is sitting pretty at the top with 416 points with Royal College following distantly at second place with 285 points.

While dominating the leaderboard, day 03 wasn’t full of gold medals for St. Josephs with only Shevindha Desilva winning his event which was the U15 50 LC Meter Backstroke event with a timing of 28.86 although many other Josephian swimmers managed to get placed in their respective events and bring in points for their school.

In the combined school’s section Lyceum Wattala was way ahead of their competitors having a total of 403 points with Lyceum Nugegoda in second place with only 196.5 points.

Top swimmers for Lyceum for the day were as follows; Annanya Kalyanasundaram won the U13 400 LC Meter Freestyle event with a timing of 5:22.66. Thevindhi Methlini also won her U11 50 LC Meter Freestyle event clocking in at 32.68. Daeva Rasmi won her event in the U15 category which was the 200 LC Meter Butterfly with a timing of 2:53.23. Amjad Hassan also won his event which was the 200 LC Meter Butterfly with a timing of 2:17.23. Diluk Jayathileke kept up to expectations winning the U17 50 LC Meter Breaststroke event clocking in at 31.84.

The 44th edition of this tournament has been full of new records and that was the case for day 3 as well with 6 new records being established. Amjad Hassen from Lyceum Wattala broke the record for the U15 200 LC Meter Butterfly event which was 2:2441 with his timing of 2:17.23. Akalanka Peiris from St. Peter’s College continued to break records as he replaced the old timing of 27.75 for the U17 50 LC Meter Backstroke with his timing of 27.36. Ramudi Samarakoon from Visakha broke yet another record for the U15 50 LC Meter Breaststroke replacing the previous record of 36.64 with her timing of 36.41. Shehanthi Gunawardhana of Visakha Vidyalaya also took a record in her name for the U17 200 LC Meter Freestyle event with her timing of 2:18.53 replacing 2:19.65.

The final day of the Championship will continue today at the Sugathadasa swimming pool to determine the winner of the 44th edition of the all island age group aquatic championship. The leaderboard at the end of day 03 is as follows.

Boys Girls Combined
1. St. Joseph’s College- 416 points Mahamaya College Kandy-389  points Lyecum Wattala- 403 points
2. Royal College-285 points Visakha Vidyalaya- 371.5 points Lyceum Nugegoda0 196.5 points
3. Ananda College- 259 points Sirimavo Bandaranaike Balika- 245 points Gateway College Colombo- 148 points
4. Lyceum Wattala- 164 points Lyceum Wattala- 239 points Dharmasoka College Ambalangoda- 103 points
5. Nalanda College- 146 ppoints Musaeus College- 181 points Regent International School- 70 points