Suraj Randiv heroics breaks Tamil Union hearts


Five matches of the Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) Premier League Tier A Tournament concluded today with Sri Lanka Ports Authority and Chilaw Marians recording outright wins.

BRC vs Tamil Union

Suraj Randiv played the innings of his life as BRC came from no where to record a first innings win over a strong Tamil Union outfit.

Randiv hit a mammoth 152* not out inclusive of 24 boundaries while he got good support from youngster Shashin Dilranga who made 84 as the duo shared a 189 run stand for the 7th wicket after BRC were in tatters at 42/6.

Read More : Dushan Hemantha pilots Navy to victory

Tamil Union batted for draw in their second innings with Jeevan Mendis stroking a fluent century in quick time.

Tamil Union Cricket And Athletic Club 314/7 (99) Tharanga Paranavitana 123, Dineth Thimodya 57, Shakila Karunanayake 37, Manoj Sarathchandra 33, Vikum Sanjaya 3/63, Himesh Ramanayake 2/39, Suraj Randiv 2/81 234/5 (53) Jeewan Mendis 100*, Tharanga Paranavithana 60, Manoj Sarathchndra 40, TN Sampath 2/68  

Burgher Recreation Club 332 (106.5) Suraj Randiv 152*, Shashin Dilranga 84, Pramod Madushan 5/85, Jeewan Mendis 3/74


Minod Bhanuka added to the centuries from Chamara Kapugedara and Dimuth Karunaratne as SSC secured first innings points over CCC in their drawn game at the SSC.

Sachith Pathirana toiled hard to pickup a five wicket haul while Wanindu Hasaranga chipped in with two wickets.

CCC batting a second time around made 233/5 at stumps with Lasith Abeyratne and Ron Chandraguptha registering half centuries.

Colombo Cricket Club 314 (80.5) Ashan Priyanjan 84, Madawa Warnapura 79, Kaveen Bandara 53, Lasith Abeyratne 43, Akthab Cader 3/45, Kasun Madushanka 2/33, Sachithra Senanyake 2/88 233/5 (55) Ron Chandraguptha 68, Lasith Abyrathna 90, Ashan Priyanjan 32, Sachithra Senanayaka 4/67  

Sinhalese Sports Club 459/8 d (115) Dimuth Karunarathne 141, Chamara Kapugedera 114, Minod Bhanuka 100*, Kavindu Kulasekara 30, Wanindu Hasaranga 2/97, Sachith Pathirana 5/131

SLPACC vs Badureliya

Chanaka Komasaru spun a web around the Badureliya batsmen as they were dismissed for 105 & 115 respectively to hand Ports Authority an innings and 139 run win.

Komasaru picked up six wickets each in both innings after Maduka Liyanapathiranage’s unbeaten century on a difficult surface set things up for the winners.

Sri Lanka Ports Authority CC 359 (100.3) Maduka Liyanapathiranage 115*, Prashan Wickramasinghe 88, Gihan Rupasinghe 48, Adeel Malik 25, Gayan Maneeshan 20, Yashodha Lanka 20, Alankara Asanka 7/79, Nimnada Subasinghe 3/56  

Badureliya Cricket Club 105 (56) Sammika Ruwan 20, Chanaka Komasaru 6/34 F/O 115 (58.5) Sanjaya Chaturanga 31, Chanaka Komasaru 6/39, Maduka Liyanapathiranage 2/28, Akalanka Ganegama 2/24

Moors vs Bloomfield

Bloomfield secured first innings points in a thrilling draw at Bloomfield ground in Colombo.

Moors SC who went down in the first innings set Bloomfield 323 to win thanks to a fine century from Chamara Silva.

Read More : National stars shine on eventful day

Bloomfield managed to bat the day out and ended on 282/7 when stumps were drawn. Lahiru Jayakody and Ramesh Mendis made dogged but crucial half centuries for the hosts.

Moors Sports Club 163 (43.2) Shanuka Dulaj 39, Tharindu Ratnayake 36, Primosh Perera 20, Lahiru Samarakoon 4/56, Imran Khan 2/13, Ramesh Mendis 2/73 372/9 d (80) Chamara Silva 134, Pabasara Waduge 52, Primosh Perera 28, Shiran Fernando 26*, Denuwan Rajakaruna 25, Shanuka Dulaj 23, Lahiru Samarakoon 4/72, Nipun Karunanayake 2/44, Malith de Silva 2/86  

Bloomfield Cricket and Athletic Club 213 (68.3) Nisal Fransico 61, Sachin Jayawardane 49, Malith de Silva 25, Pramud Hettiwatte 22, Sajeewa Weerakoon 6/58, Tharindu Rathnayake 2/93 282/7 (73) Lahiru Jayakody 56, Adeesha Nanayakakara 48, Ramesh Mendis 59, Pramud Hettiwatte 45, Sajeewa Weerakoon 2/85, Tharindu Rathnayake 2/119

Chilaw Marians vs Army SC

Army SC were a mismatch for Chilaw Marians as they registered an innings and 197 run win today.

The win was set up through a stunning batting performance by Chilaw Marians with Oshada Fernando and Shehan Jayasuriya registering centuries.

It was Malinda Pushpakumara who stood out with the ball once again capturing nine wickets in the match.

Chilaw Marians Cricket Club 545 (118.3) Oshada Fernando 196, Shehan Jayasuriya 118, Sachithra Serasinghe 65, Isuru Udana 56, Risith Upamal 41, Pulina Tharanga 37, Janith Silva 5/114, Dushan Vimukthi 2/139  

Army Cricket Club 160 (49) Sanjika Ridma 35*, AKN de Silva 27, Navod Ilukwatta 20, Nuwan Liyanapathirana 20, Malinda Pushpakumara 6/56, Asitha Fernando 3/24 F/O 188 (62.1) Dilshan de Soyza 62,Kasun de Silva 51, Thikshila de Silva 3/19, Malinda Pushpakumara 3/69,