Super U19 Provincial One Day Tournament kicks off

Singer U19 Provincial

The Super U19 Provincial One Day Tournament 2017 conducted and supervised by Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) commenced today in Colombo and its suburbs.

Ten provincial teams will battle it out in two groups. The top two teams from each group will then advance to the semi-finals with the final scheduled to be played on 6th May at R. Premadas International Cricket Stadium.

Players eligible to play the 2017/18 under 19 schools’ season will be representing their respective provinces. Some of the outstation teams such as Northern Province, Eastern Province, Uva Province and North Central will feature lads from Colombo schools.

North Western crowned SLC Super 19 Provincial Champions

North Western Province deservingly won the SLC Super 19 Provincial Tournament 2016 beating Southern Province on first-inning in the three-day final which concluded on Friday at R. Premadasa International Stadium.

Last year, North Western Province led by Damitha Silva won the tournament.

Group A Group B
Western Province South Western Province North
Northern Province Eastern Province
Central Province North Central Province
North Western Province Southern Province
Uva Province Western Province Central

North Central vs Southern

Been invited to bat first at Colts grounds, North Central Province were restricted to a below-par 116 inside 34 overs.  Richmond College, duo, Sandun Mendis and Avindu Theekshana was impressive with the ball as they took 3 wickets each, while Royal College left-hander Kavindu Madarasinghe made a useful half-ton for North Central Province.

In response, dashing Richmond College left-hander Dhananjaya Lakshan came out all guns blazing as he top scored for Southern Province carrying them to a comfortable win.

North Central Province 116 (33.5) Kavindu Madarasingha 50, Asanka Kularathne 20, Sandun Mendis 3/32, Avindu Theekshana 3/19.

Southern Province 117/3 (20) Dananjaya Lakshan 66*.

Result – Southern won by 7 wickets.

North Western vs Central

After winning the toss, North Central put up a solid performance as they posted 285 in their 50 overs on a friendly batting surface at Moors grounds. Navodya Imesh and Nipun Dhananjaya stared with the bat making handy half-tons.

In reply, Central Province never gathered any sort of momentum in their innings as they had regular casualties throughout their essay albeit scoring 257. North Western wrapped up proceedings to record a commanding victory to begin their campaign.  

North Western Province 285/9 (50) Navodya Imesh 68*, Nipun Dananjaya 64, Kaveen Bandara 49, Kavindu Iresh 34, Nimsara Atharagalla 3/31

Central Province 257 (47.5) Ravishka Upendra 61, Nimsara Atharagalle 57*, Nipun Dananjaya 2/25 Pubudu Ganegama 2/36.

Result – North Western Province won by 28 runs.

Northern vs Western Province South

After being asked to bat first, Northern Province got buddle out for a hapless 127 all out in a game which played at NCC grounds.

Insaka Siriwardane was the chief destroyer as he claimed four wickets, while Thashik Perera chipped in with 2 scalps. in reply Western Province South managed to chased down their target with relative ease.

Northern Province 127 (36.3) Salith Fernando 26, Insaka Siriwardena 4/16, Thashik Perera 2/28.

Western Province South 128/3 (28.2) Sanoj Darshika 30, Nishan Madhushka 25.

Result – Western Province South won by 7 wickets.

Western Province North vs Eastern Province  

After losing the toss, Western Province North managed to score a formidable 286 in their 50 overs on a flat batting track at BRC grounds. Pruthivi Rusara and Sajith Sameera was the highlights of the innings as they both stroked half-tons, while Theva Dilakshan grabbed four scalps with ball for the lads from Eastern Province.

Chasing a tough target, Eastern Province lost wickets at regular intervals as they crumbled under pressure. Western Province North defended the target comfortably with off-spinner Sajith Sameera once again contributing with ball in hand.

Western Province North 286/8 (50) Pruthivi Rusara 66, Sajith Sameera 51, Ashan Fernando 41, Kamesh Nirmal 34, Avishka Tharindu 22, Lahiru Aththanayake 20*, Theva Dilakshan 4/42, Shehan Nadeeja 2/49.

Eastern Province 79 (31) Sajith Sameera 3/15, Chamika Gunasekara 2/12, Asela Sigera 2/14.

Result – Western Province North won by 207 runs.