Stubborn Bangladesh U19s set up enthralling final day

Sri Lanka U19 vs Bangladesh U19 - 2nd Youth Test

Sri Lanka U19s declared their innings late on day three to set the Bangladesh U19s 351 for victory, before the visitors accepted the challenge to end the day on 75/1 in just 18 overs.

Sri Lanka U19s were in a commanding position at the start of day three and their batsmen continued to consolidate their position in the match.
Sonal Dinusha and Sandun Mendis made useful 30’s in the middle order to help Sri Lanka carry their lead over the 250 run mark, as the surface at the Marians Cricket grounds (MCG) continued to take more and more spin.
Rakibul Hasan’s slow left spin had the Sri Lankan middle order in shambles as Bangladesh put up a spirited display in the field to make sure they didn’t have to chase too much come the fourth innings.
However Sri Lanka’s fast bowling all-rounder Chamindu Wijesinghe had other ideas as he continued to take the attack along with the lower middle order as Sri Lanka reached 233/9 before deciding to declare their innings. Wijesinghe went on to top score with 55 runs while Rakibul Hasan had impressive returns of 7/93 though Bangladesh U19s failed to bowl out the hosts.
The visitors came out with a very positive intent as they raced to 75/1 in just 18 overs when the umpires decided to call off play on day three. Rohan Sanjaya the hero from first innings was the onlyman to pick up a wicket for Sri Lanka U19s with Bangladesh needing a further 276 runs for an almost improbable outright win.


Full Scorecard

Sri Lanka U19

226/10 & 233/9

(92 overs)


Ban U19

109/10 & 186/7

(58 overs)

Sri Lanka U19’s 1st Innings

Navod Paranavithana c T Hridoy b S Alam79153
Nipun Dananjaya c R Hossain b S Alam013
Kamil Mishara lbw by R Hasan5296
Mohomed Shamaz b S Alam1034
Sonal Dinusha c A Ali b M Chowdhury836
Janishka Perera c A Ali b S Alam01
Sandun Mendis c S Hossain b S Alam1026
Chaminda Wijesinghe c M Hasan b R Hossain1766
Ashan Daniel c R Hossain b M Chowdhury326
Naveen Fernando not out2064
Rohan Sanjaya b M Chowdhury1433
13 (b 6, lb 3, nb 2, w 2)
226/10 (91 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-0 (N Dananjaya, 5.1 ov), 2-122 (K Mishara, 37.5 ov), 3-144 (N Paranavithana, 48.3 ov), 4-149 (M Shamaz, 50.1 ov), 5-149 (J Perera, 50.2 ov), 6-167 (S Mendis, 58.1 ov), 7-167 (S Dinusha, 60.6 ov), 8-176 (A Daniel, 68.5 ov), 9-195 (C Wijesinghe, 80.1 ov), 10-226 (N Fernando, 90.6 ov)
Mittunjoy Chowdhury256522 2.08
Sahin Alam144375 2.64
Shamim Hossain93160 1.78
Towhid Hridoy72250 3.57
Rishad Hossain152501 3.33
Rakibul Hasan216371 1.76

Ban U19’s 1st Innings

Tanzid Hasan c N Fernando b R Sanjaya5055
Sajd Hossain c K Mishara b R Sanjaya2237
Hassan Joy b A Daniel03
Towhid Hridoy b A Daniel18
Shamim Hossain lbw by A Daniel311
Akbar Ali c K Mishara b R Sanjaya116
Amite Hasan c A Daniel b R Sanjaya07
Rakibul Hasan not out1544
Mittunjoy Chowdhury lbw by A Daniel314
Rishad Hossain b A Daniel04
Sahin Alam lbw by R Sanjaya019
14 (b 8, lb 4, nb 2)
109/10 (36 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-77 (S Hossain, 11.5 ov), 2-78 (H Joy, 12.5 ov), 3-82 (T Hridoy, 14.6 ov), 4-90 (S Hossain, 18.2 ov), 5-90 (T Hasan, 19.2 ov), 6-90 (A Hasan, 21.3 ov), 7-91 (A Ali, 23.1 ov), 8-94 (M Chowdhury, 26.4 ov), 9-94 (R Hossain, 28.2 ov), 10-109 (S Alam, 35.6 ov)
Naveen Fernando30190 6.33
Chamindu Wijesinghe51220 4.40
Ashan Daniel154375 2.47
Rohan Sanjaya114175 1.55
Sandun Mendis2020 1.00

Sri Lanka U19’s 2nd Innings

Navod Paranavithana st. A Ali b T Hridoy3662
Nipun Dananjaya c T Hasan b R Hasan2328
Kamil Mishara c T Hasan b R Hasan1370
Mohomed Shamaz st. A Ali b R Hasan1484
Sonal Dinusha c T Hasan b R Hasan3798
Janishka Perera c A Hasan b S Alam024
Sandun Mendis c S Hossain b R Hasan3671
Chamindu Wijesinghe lbw by R Hasan5569
Naveen Fernando c T Hasan b R Hasan03
Ashan Daniel not out1029
Rohan Sanjaya not out116
8 (b 4, lb 1, nb 2, w 1)
233/9 (92 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-47 (N Dananjaya, 10.5 ov), 2-61 (N Paranavithana, 20.5 ov), 3-82 (K Mishara, 33.4 ov), 4-111 (M Shamaz, 48.5 ov), 5-120 (J Perera, 55.6 ov), 6-134 (S Dinusha, 56.1 ov), 7-215 (C Wijesinghe, 80.3 ov), 8-215 (N Fernando, 81.6 ov), 9-222 (S Mendis, 85.1 ov)
Sahin Alam141311 2.21
Shamim Hossain41120 3.00
Rakibul Hasan4210937 2.21
Towhid Hridoy82241 3.00
Rishad Hossain101410 4.10
Mittunjoy Chowdhury147270 1.93

Ban U19’s 2nd Innings

Tanzid Hasan lbw by R Sanjaya3748
Sajd Hossain not out2954
Towhid Hridoy not out27
7 (b 3, nb 1, w 3)
186/7 (58 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-66 (T Hasan, 13.4 ov)
Naveen Fernando2060 3.00
Chamindu Wijesinghe20110 5.50
Ashan Daniel61330 5.50
Rohan Sanjaya72151 2.14
Sandun Mendis1070 7.00