St. Sebastian’s College outplayed Trinity College by 4 wickets in the ‘Singer Cup’ Under 19 Limited Overs Tournament final played at R. Premadasa International Stadium on Friday.

Vice-captain Sandaruwan Fernando’s high pressure knock of 62 which displayed maturity as he anchored St. Sebastian’s to the title after 20 years, they last won it in 1996 under Mario Rees’ captaincy.

 Visit the March Madness Hub 

Earlier, after opting to bat first, Trinity College lost their vice-captain Nushan Weerasinghe in the very first over when fast-bowler Asher Warnakulasooriya inflicted a slight outside edge to the wicket-keeper.

In-form Shanogeeth Shanmuganathan started off positively smashing a few lusty boundaries through the leg-side but the part-time seam of Avishka Fernando did the trick for the Sebastianites as the left-hander was caught for 21 at mid-on.

Right-arm medium fast bowler Mishen Silva got the prized scalp of the Trinity run-machine Dilan Jayalath when a beautiful out-swinger had the edge of his bat to be caught at slips. Skipper Avishka bowled his quota of 10 overs for 11 runs at one stretch and made two more breakthroughs to dismiss Hasitha Boyagoda and Sachira Gaminda as the Trinitians were in dire straits with five down for only 53 in the 17th over.

Trinity skipper Raveen Sayer and one-drop batsman Shavindu Amarasinghe somewhat resurrected the innings putting on 45 for the 6th wicket before the latter was caught behind off Warnakulasooriya’s bowling for a well-made 33. Skipper Sayer took up the responsibility onto his shoulders to give a solid end to the innings as he mustered a fighting 100-ball 69 along with the lower order batsmen. The lads from Kandy were bowled out for 166 with one over to spare as left-arm spinner Praveen Jayawickrama got two late wickets for the Sebastianites.

 Photo Album – St. Sebastian’s College vs Trinity College -Singer U19 LO Finals 

Chasing 167 runs to win, St. Sebastian’s College opener Praveen Perera could not get off strike for 15 balls before he was caught behind by Dilan Jayalath off Lahiru Kumara. Skipper Avishka played a few crisp and elegant strokes but a brilliant diving catch by Sachira Gaminda brought his almost run-a-ball 27 to an end in the first over bowled by Shanogeeth.

The Trinity spinners bowled a tight line and length to restrict their opponent’s run-flow while Shanogeeth chipped away with wickets at regular intervals. Nuwanidu Fernando was struck right-in front of the stumps while Malintha Peiris made a lousy sweep shot which got him trapped in front of the wicket.

Vice-captain Sandaruwan Fernando was involved in three key match-winning partnerships of 29, 43 and 30* with Mishane Silva, Tharusha Fernando and Nimesh Bandara respectively. Sandaruwan hang on till the end to guide his team to victory scoring the winning runs with a boundary much to the delight of the demonstrative Sebastian supporters present.

Man of the Match – Sandaruwan Fernando

Trinity College – 166 all out in 49 overs: Raveen Sayer 69, Shavindu Amarasinghe 33, Shanogeeth Shanmuganathan 21, Avishka Fernando 3/11, Praveen Jayawickrama 2/17, Asher Warnakulasooriya 2/49, Mishane Silva 2/36.

St. Sebastian’s College – 168/6 in 44 overs:  Avishka Fernando 27, Sandaruwan Fernando 62*, Nimesh Bandara 22*, Shanogeeth Shanmuganathan 3/14.

Replay U19 Limited Overs Final