St. Joseph’s shocked on day one as sumptuous cup quarters decided


St. Joseph’s College were shocked by Science College Mount Lavinia, as the boys from beside the sea came up trumps 12-5, shocking the lads from Maradana, grabbing a cup quarterfinal birth in the under 18 sevens played at the Royal College Sports Complex.

Meanwhile, Royal College is set to face arch rivals Trinity College, Vidyartha go up against Wesley College, St. Peter’s against Isipathana College and Science Colleges’ reward for the win sees them face off against St. Anthony’s College in the four cup quarter finals to be played on day two.

Eight groups saw 25 teams take centre stage at the Complex as three teams were placed in six groups, with one group having two teams and another with four.

Link : U18 sevens to crown a new champion?

Earlier on, the day kicked off as Trinity and Kingswood registered easy wins against Moratu Vidyalaya. Soon after both Trinity and Kingswood eyed the top spot in group A. However, it was the defending champions, Trinity who dispatched fellow Kandy rival Kingswood 26-05 to take top spot and a cup quarter final berth.

Trinity College 38 0 Moratu Vidyalaya
Kingswood College 48 0 Moratu Vidyalaya
Trinity College 26 5 Kingswood College

Both Royal College and Maliyadewa College defeated Eheliyagoda Central with ease as the newly promoted A division school looked to shock red hot boys from Reid Avenue.

Royal began the play-off against Maliyadewa in stunning fashion, however, the lads from Kurunegala struck back but it was too little too late as Royal hung on to win 48-12, taking first spot in group B.

Royal College 54 0 Eheliyagoda Central
Maliyadewa College 10 0 Eheliyagoda Central
Royal College 48 12 Maliyadewa College

Zahira College narrowly defeated Sri Sumangala by a single try, while Vidyartha College easily dispatched their Kandy rivals as Zahire took on Vidyartha for a top spot in group C.

Zahira College began in fighting fashion scoring twice, however, it was the lads from Vidyartha who bounced back, grabbing the game by the scruff of its neck, to end it 26-12, securing top spot and a cup quarter final on day two.

Zahira College 7 0 Sri Sumangala
Vidyartha College 21 7 Sri Sumangala
Vidyartha College 26 12 Zahira College

Wesley College were placed in an uncomplicated group D. the boys from Campbell Park made no mistake, dispatching both Mahanama and St. Thomas’ College Matale, booking an early cup quarter final berth. Meanwhile, Mahanama College booked their bowl quarter final berth, beating St. Thomas’ Matale 24-14.

Wesley College 31 7 Mahanama College
Wesley College 54 0 St. Thomas’ Matale
Mahanama College 24 14 St. Thomas’ Matale

Four try St. Peter’s came about for their only fixture — in the only group with two sides –, defeating fellow rival DS Senanayake College in group E, as the Peterites booked a cup quarter final berth while DS were relegated to the bowl segment.

St. Peter’s College 28 5 DS Senanayake College

Isipathana College were too good for both CWW Kannangara and Lumbini as the Green Machine dismantled both opponents in group F, conceding only one try in both outings.

Isipathana College 31 5 CWW Kannangara
CWW Kannangara 7 14 Lumbini
Isipathana College 36 0 Lumbini

St. Anthony’s College were the dominant force in group G — the single group with 4 teams — as the boys from the Hill Capital dismantled opponent after opponent, conceding just a single converted try, topping the group and taking their place in the cup quarter final. Ananda College finished behind them with two wins over St. Aloysius College and Royal College Panadura, taking a place in the bowl quarter finals.

St. Anthony’s College 54 0 Royal College Panadura
Ananda College 27 0 St. Aloysius College
St. Anthony’s College 36 0 St. Aloysius College
Ananda College 50 0 Royal College Panadura
St. Anthony’s College 33 7 Ananda College
St. Aloysius College 19 0 Royal College Panadura

St. Joseph’s College displayed a dominant performance against Piliyandala Central while Science College were made to work, however, both teams got over the line against Piliyandala Central setting up a sumptuous final match of day one as Science took on St. Joseph’s in a play off for top spot in group H.

Science College started off on the front foot, scoring the only first half try as the game was on a knife edge going into the second half. The Science defence held firm throughout the second half as the Josephians came close to getting off the mark, however, were kept at bay.

The boys from Mount Lavinia built on their defensive strength, going on to score their second as time and the game ran away from St. Joseph’s College as the shock of the day was complete as Science booked their cup quarter final birth, leaving the Josephians to be satisfied with a bowl quarter final place to play for on day two.

St. Joseph’s College 36 0 Piliyandala Central
Science College 21 12 Piliyandala Central
St. Joseph’s College 5 12 Science College

With these results, the four cup quarter finals will take place early on day two while the bowl quarter finals will follow as Kingswood go up against Maliyadewa, while, Vidyartha, DS Senanayake and Ananda take on Mahanama, Lumbini and St. Joseph’s College respectively.

Meanwhile the sheid quarter finals see Moratu Vidyalaya, Sri Sumangala, Royal Panadura and St. Aloysius go up against Eheliyagoda MMW, St. Thomas’ College Matale, CWW Kananangara and Piliyandala Central respectively.

Cup Quarter Finals:

Trinity College Royal College
Vidyartha College Wesley College
St. Peter’s College Isipathana College
St. Anthony’s College Science College

Bowl Quarter Finals:

Kingswood College Maliyadewa College
Zahira College Mahanama College
DS Senanayake College Lumbini
Ananda College St. Joseph’s College

Shield Quarter Finals:

Moratu Vidyalaya Eheliyagoda Central
Sri Sumangala St. Thomas’ Matale
Royal College Panadura CWW Kannangara
St. Aloysius College Piliyandala Central

The second day will be telecast live on from 9am onwards as the action heats up in the under 18 Sevens at the Royal Complex.

Link : Singer Inter School Under 18 7’s – 2018