Home Cricket National Cricket Youth Tigers tame their Lankan counterparts in Khulna

Youth Tigers tame their Lankan counterparts in Khulna

Sri Lanka U19 tour of Bangladesh 2019 | 2nd Youth Test – Day 2

The Sri Lanka U19s were made to toil the entire day on the field as Bangladesh took complete control of the game with a healthy first innings lead of 137 by the end of day 2 of the 2nd and last Youth Test between the two teams at the Sheikh Abu Naser Stadium in Khulna.

Resuming their 1st innings from 71/2 in reply to the 184 made by the visitors, the overnight batting pair of Prantik Nawrose and Alvi Haque took Bangladesh almost past the Lankan 1st innings score. After batting through the first session unseparated, Nawrose was unfortunately caught behind 2 runs short of a well-deserved century when Bangladesh were trailing by just 1 run.

All-round Chamindu shines on poor opening day for SL U19

The 2nd and last Youth Test between Sri Lanka U19 and hosts Bangladesh U19 kick-started today at the….

Haque continued to maintain the Bangladeshi dominance over the tourists from then onwards as he was very well supported by Shahadat Hossain. The 81-run 4th wicket stand between Haque and Hossain made things worse for the Lions who were trying to recover after conceding a mammoth partnership of 135 runs for the 3rd wicket.

The dismissal of Haque for 72 runs by debutant pacie Amshi de Silva, however helped Sri Lanka to creep back with a few more quick wickets. From 264/3, the hosts lost 5 wickets for just 46 runs within a space of 15 overs or so. The rejuvenated Lankan bowlers hunted as a pack as Captain Nipun Dananjaya led the way, claiming 2 out of the 5 wickets which fell in that period of the game.

Bangladesh were still in the driving seat despite some late strikes as they finished the day on 321/8 with Meharab Hasan unbeaten on 15, holding the key for them. 

In bowling for Sri Lanka, Dunith Wellalage’s efforts emerged to be brilliant as he did the bulk of the bowling. The 2 wickets during his marathon effort of 30 overs included the crucial wicket of Nawrose. 

The Lions will now have to put up something special with the bat tomorrow if they are to finish this game on a high. 

Match drawn

Sri Lanka U19
184/10 (54.3) & 346/9 (149)
Bangladesh U19
354/10 (120.4) & 37/3 (14)
Chamindu Wickramasinghe c Shahadat Hossain b Ashiqur Rahman Ruhit7310511069.52
Thaveesha Abhishek c Ashraful Islam b Shahin Alom8430018.60
Ravindu De Silva c Shahadat Hossain b Shahin Alom250040.00
Sonal Dinusha c Pritom Kumar b Shahin Alom03000.00
Nipun Dananjaya c Pritom Kumar b Shahin Alom29415070.73
Avishka Perera c Ashiqur Rahman Ruhit b Mehedi Hasan224008.33
Lakshan Gamage c Meherab Hossain Ahin b Shahin Alom47685169.12
Dunith Wellalage c Pritom Kumar b Shahin Alom17273062.96
Raveen De Silva b Shahin Alom010000.00
Amshi De Silva b Ashiqur Rahman Ruhit01000.00
Ruvin Peiris not out03000.00
Extras6 (b 1 , lb 0 , nb 3, w 2, pen 0)
Total184/10 (54.3 Overs, RR: 3.38)
Fall of Wickets 1-46 (16.1) Thaveesha Abhishek, 2-57 (18.3) Ravindu De Silva, 3-58 (18.5) Sonal Dinusha, 4-115 (32.2) Nipun Dananjaya, 5-115 (33.1) Chamindu Wickramasinghe, 6-132 (40.5) Avishka Perera, 7-154 (48.2) Dunith Wellalage, 8-163 (50.6) Raveen De Silva, 9-168 (51.4) Amshi De Silva, 10-184 (54.3) Lakshan Gamage,
Mehedi Hasan1413612.57
Shahin Alom17.356273.58
Ashiqur Rahman Ruhit1406024.29
Ashraful Islam822302.88
Meherab Hossain Ahin10202.00
Prantik Nawrose Nabil c Avishka Perera b Dunith Wellalage9818115054.14
Sajid Hossain Seam c Avishka Perera b Chamindu Wickramasinghe26324081.25
Pritom Kumar c Dunith Wellalage b Chamindu Wickramasinghe6141042.86
Alvi Hoque c Sonal Dinusha b Amshi De Silva722262131.86
Shahadat Hossain c Thaveesha Abhishek b Nipun Dananjaya501213041.32
Amite Hasan lbw b Ruvin Peiris18233078.26
Meherab Hossain Ahin not out33775042.86
Ashraful Islam lbw b Dunith Wellalage6111054.55
Mehedi Hasan c Lakshan Gamage b Nipun Dananjaya06000.00
Ashiqur Rahman Ruhit lbw b Nipun Dananjaya11401027.50
Shahin Alom c Amshi De Silva b Nipun Dananjaya05000.00
Extras34 (b 10 , lb 2 , nb 12, w 10, pen 0)
Total354/10 (120.4 Overs, RR: 2.93)
Fall of Wickets 1-41 (11.1) Sajid Hossain Seam, 2-48 (13.5) Pritom Kumar, 3-183 (62.5) Prantik Nawrose Nabil, 4-264 (88.4) Alvi Hoque, 5-287 (95.3) Amite Hasan, 6-298 (100.1) Shahadat Hossain, 7-309 (103.2) Ashraful Islam, 8-310 (104.6) Mehedi Hasan, 9-340 (118.3) Ashiqur Rahman Ruhit, 10-354 (120.4) Shahin Alom,
Amshi De Silva2137913.76
Ruvin Peiris2054612.30
Chamindu Wickramasinghe931922.11
Dunith Wellalage3176822.19
Lakshan Gamage1305304.08
Raveen De Silva1014204.20
Nipun Dananjaya16.453542.13
Chamindu Wickramasinghe c Pritom Kumar b Mehedi Hasan241641150.00
Thaveesha Abhishek c Pritom Kumar b Mehedi Hasan18293062.07
Ravindu De Silva b Meherab Hossain Ahin33844039.29
Sonal Dinusha c Alvi Hoque b Mehedi Hasan551484037.16
Nipun Dananjaya c Amite Hasan b Ashraful Islam813184025.47
Avishka Perera c Pritom Kumar b Prantik Nawrose Nabil18622029.03
Lakshan Gamage c Shahin Alom b Ashiqur Rahman Ruhit45967046.88
Dunith Wellalage c Pritom Kumar b Ashraful Islam45927048.91
Raveen De Silva not out446008.70
Amshi De Silva lbw b Ashraful Islam270028.57
Ruvin Peiris not out02000.00
Extras21 (b 7 , lb 6 , nb 6, w 2, pen 0)
Total346/9 (149 Overs, RR: 2.32)
Fall of Wickets 1-33 (4.6) Chamindu Wickramasinghe, 2-44 (8.5) Thaveesha Abhishek, 3-107 (31.5) Ravindu De Silva, 4-156 (58.3) Sonal Dinusha, 5-187 (74.6) Avishka Perera, 6-255 (104.6) Lakshan Gamage, 7-327 (133.2) Dunith Wellalage, 8-342 (145.5) Nipun Dananjaya, 9-346 (147.4) Amshi De Silva,
Mehedi Hasan2035232.60
Shahin Alom2587002.80
Ashiqur Rahman Ruhit2584411.76
Ashraful Islam3467632.24
Meherab Hossain Ahin2444411.83
Shahadat Hossain20502.50
Prantik Nawrose Nabil1652011.25
Sajid Hossain Seam302207.33

Prantik Nawrose Nabil lbw b Amshi De Silva6610100.00
Sajid Hossain Seam not out18462039.13
Pritom Kumar c Sonal Dinusha b Amshi De Silva461066.67
Alvi Hoque b Raveen De Silva7230030.43
Shahadat Hossain not out140025.00
Extras1 (b 0 , lb 0 , nb 1, w 0, pen 0)
Total37/3 (14 Overs, RR: 2.64)
Fall of Wickets 1-10 (2.1) Prantik Nawrose Nabil, 2-15 (2.6) Pritom Kumar, 3-36 (13.2) Alvi Hoque,
Amshi De Silva311023.33
Ruvin Peiris301404.67
Dunith Wellalage42401.00
Nipun Dananjaya21402.00
Raveen De Silva20512.50

>>For more Cricket News<<