Home Cricket National Cricket Supreme India thump Lankans registering another series win

Supreme India thump Lankans registering another series win

Sri Lanka tour of India – 3rd T20I

Sri Lanka suffers another humiliating defeat at the hands of their neighbors in the 3rd and final T20I at Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Pune as they handed the series 2-0 to India after a 78-run loss. 

Sri Lanka skipper Lasith Malinga finally had his luck with the toss and asked Virat Kohli’s men to bat first at the high scoring Pune ground. Sri Lanka made room for Angelo Mathews and Lakshan Sandakan in the playing XI at the expense of Bhanuka Rajapaksha and injured Isuru Udana while India tested their bench strength with Yuzvendra Chahal, Sanju Samson and Manish Pandey in the mix.

Read More : Clinical India make short work of Sri Lanka

Battle for the opener’s slot

After being placed to bat first, India openers KL Rahul and Shikar Dhawan started the fireworks from the beginning as they went after Lasith Malinga and his new opening partner with the ball; Angelo Mathews who donned Sri Lanka Jersey in a T20I after 16 months.

Both batsmen matched shot to shot in their mission to seal the remaining opener’s slot in Indian top order to accompany Rohit Sharma who has been rested for this T20I series. Pair put 63 runs in the powerplay and hammered Sri Lankans to all parts in their 106-run opening partnership.

Sandakan says enough

With the introduction of wrist spinners by captain Lasith Malinga, Indians had to put on brakes as wickets started to tumble from both ends. Chinaman Lakshan Sandakan announced his return grandly as he used his loop and dip precisely to deceive opposition batsmen, registering 3 wickets.

He was well-supported by Wanindu de Silva who confused Sanju Samson with his deadly googly to tick his wicket column. Thanks to this duo, Indian batting blitz was silenced for a short period as India could only muster 62 runs off their 8 overs.

Death bowling, WHAT?

Unfortunately, all the good work done up by the spin double was undone in the last 4 overs as Indian lower middle order led by Virat Kohli, Manish Pandey and Shardul Thakur collected 59 runs thrashing Sri Lanka seamers.

  • Over 19 (by Lasith Malinga) – 15 runs
  • Over 20 (by Lahiru Kumara) – 19 runs

India rocketed to a final total of 201 which is a target Sri Lanka has never chased before in a T20I.

Batting fails again

Chasing a mammoth target of 202, Sri Lankan top order failed spectacularly as they were reduced to a 35/4 after the powerplay. Lankans were beaten for pace by Jusprit Bumrah and Navdeep Saini who clocked around 140kph troubling the opposition.

The only respite was given by Dhananjaya de Silva and Angelo Mathews who rejuvenated Sri Lanka chase to take the required rate down to 13. Mathews reminded everyone the power he possesses as he dispatched the Indians spinners for 3 massive sixes on his way to 31 off 20 overs.

The rest of the batting unit toppled like a pack of cards sealing a 78-run win for India as Navdeep Saini shinned again with a 3-fer. This is India’s 6th T20I series win over Sri Lanka who has never tasted a series win against India.

The rest of the batting unit toppled like a pack of cards sealing a 78-run win for India as Navdeep Saini shinned again with a 3-fer. This is India’s 6th T20I series win over Sri Lanka who has never tasted a series win against India.

>>Click Here For More Cricket News<<


Sri Lanka
123/10 (15.5)
201/6 (20)
 KL Rahul st Kusal Perera b Lakshan Sandakan543651150.00
Shikhar Dhawan c Danushka Gunathilaka b Lakshan Sandakan523671144.44
Sanju Samson lbw b Wanindu Hasaranga6201300.00
Manish Pandey not out311840172.22
Shreyas Iyer c & b Lakshan Sandakan4210200.00
Virat Kohli run out (Danushka Gunathilaka)261721152.94
Washington Sundar c Lakshan Sandakan b Lahiru Kumara01000.00
Shardul Thakur not out22812275.00
Extras6 (b 0 , lb 2 , nb 0, w 4, pen 0)
Total201/6 (20 Overs, RR: 10.05)
Fall of Wickets 1-97 (10.5) Shikhar Dhawan, 2-106 (11.3) Sanju Samson, 3-118 (12.3)  KL Rahul, 4-122 (12.5) Shreyas Iyer, 5-164 (17.3) Virat Kohli, 6-164 (17.4) Washington Sundar,
Lasith Malinga4040010.00
Angelo Mathews3038012.67
Dhananjaya de Silva1013013.00
Lahiru Kumara4046111.50
Wanindu Hasaranga402716.75
Lakshan Sandakan403538.75

Danushka Gunathilaka c Washington Sundar b Jasprit Bumrah120050.00
Avishka Fernando c Shreyas Iyer b Shardul Thakur9701128.57
Kusal Perera b Navdeep Saini7101070.00
Oshada Fernando run out (Manish Pandey)250040.00
Angelo Mathews c Manish Pandey b Washington Sundar312013155.00
Dhananjaya de Silva c Jasprit Bumrah b Navdeep Saini573681158.33
Dasun Shanaka c & b Shardul Thakur9901100.00
Wanindu Hasaranga run out (Yuzvendra Chahal)01000.00
Lakshan Sandakan st Sanju Samson b Washington Sundar120050.00
Lasith Malinga c Virat Kohli b Navdeep Saini01000.00
Lahiru Kumara not out1100100.00
Extras5 (b 1 , lb 0 , nb 0, w 4, pen 0)
Total123/10 (15.5 Overs, RR: 7.77)
Fall of Wickets 1-5 (0.6) Danushka Gunathilaka, 2-11 (1.3) Avishka Fernando, 3-15 (3.1) Oshada Fernando, 4-26 (5.1) Kusal Perera, 5-94 (11.2) Angelo Mathews, 6-110 (13.3) Dasun Shanaka, 7-110 (13.4) Wanindu Hasaranga, 8-118 (14.6) Lakshan Sandakan, 9-122 (15.3) Dhananjaya de Silva, 10-123 (15.5) Lasith Malinga,
Jasprit Bumrah21512.50
Shardul Thakur301926.33
Navdeep Saini3.502838.00
Washington Sundar403729.25
Yuzvendra Chahal3033011.00