Home Cricket National Cricket Sri Lanka fails miserably at Brisbane to concede series

Sri Lanka fails miserably at Brisbane to concede series

Sri Lanka tour of Australia 2019 – T20I Series


Sri Lanka lost the 2nd T20I at The Gabba, Brisbane by 9 wickets, handing Australia an unassailable 2-0 lead in the 3-match T20I series between the sides. Sri Lanka looked clueless in both the batting and bowling departments as the hosts chased Sri Lanka’s 117 in just 13 overs.

Sri Lanka captain Lasith Malinga won the toss and opted to bat first after making 3 changes in the playing XI. Kasun Rajitha, who had a horrible day with the ball in the 1st T20I, was left out in place of experienced campaigner Isuru Udana while Niroshan Dickwella and Avishka Fernando were added to the playing XI too, surprisingly leaving Oshada Fernando and Bhanuka Rajapaksha on the bench. Australia were forced to make one change in their winning combination from 1st T20I as Mitchell Starc was replaced with Queenslander Billy Stanlake.

Read: Warner and co annihilate hapless Sri Lanka

Just like in the first T20I, Sri Lanka batsmen couldn’t find their timing today, missing most of the deliveries as the Australian pacers found extra bounce in the Gabba pitch which is renowned for its fast-paced nature. 

Openers Danushka Gunathilaka and Kusal Mendis were troubled by Billy Stanlake and Kane Richardson’s opening spell, as they created the pressure on both ends. That created a run out opportunity as  miscommunication between the openers and Mendis’ lazy running cost Sri Lanka their first wicket.

Gunathilaka tried to be creative with lap sweeps and ramps as the runs dried up, but soon he too was bowled by a Stanlake good length delivery and new additions to the playing XI, Avishka Fernando and Niroshan Dickwewlla followed Gunathilaka back to the dressing room without making any significant contributions.

Watch: Sri Lanka face uphill battle to level series after Adelaide onslaught – 2nd T20I Preview

Kusal Perera was the only man who looked comfortable at the crease as he hit two mouthwatering straight drives down the ground before getting cramped up for space by the left arm spinner Ashton Agar who managed to rattle his stumps when Perera was on 27. Sri Lanka were bowled out for 117 inside 19 overs as their miserable batting effort ended in a run out when tail ender Lakshan Sandakan was caught short of the crease by Pat Cummins.

Chasing a modest 118 to win, Australia lost their skipper Aaron Finch in the first over, nicking one to wicket keeper Kusal Perera off Malinga’s bowling before opening his account. From then on, David Warner and Steve Smith took turns to take advantage of the Sri Lanka bowling which has lacked penetration through-out the two matches. 

Photos: Sri Lanka Vs Australia – 2nd T20I

The Ashes hero Steve Smith tried to prove his value in the T20 format with some exquisite strokes square of the wicket while Warner bludgeoned his way to another half century, continuing the carnage which he caused in the first T20I. The hosts reached the target in just 13 overs, securing the series 2-0 victory and registered their first T20I series win vs Sri Lanka at home.

The 3rd and the final T20I of the series will be held on the 1st of November at the Melbourne Cricket Ground.

Video – Sri Lanka Cricket fans in Australia: It’s your turn to shine again!


Sri Lanka
117/10 (18.5)

118/1 (13)

Batsmen R B 4s 6s SR
Kusal Mendis run out (Ashton Agar) 1 4 0 0 25.00
Danushka Gunathilaka b Billy Stanlake 21 22 2 1 95.45
Avishka Fernando c Pat Cummins b Ashton Agar 17 16 1 0 106.25
Kusal Perera b Ashton Agar 27 19 2 1 142.11
Niroshan Dickwella c Ashton Turner b Pat Cummins 5 3 1 0 166.67
Dasun Shanaka c  Alex Carey b Billy Stanlake 1 3 0 0 33.33
Wanindu Hasaranga st  Alex Carey b Adam Zampa 10 11 0 0 90.91
Isuru Udana c Kane Richardson b Pat Cummins 10 14 0 0 71.43
Lakshan Sandakan run out (Pat Cummins) 10 14 1 0 71.43
Lasith Malinga st  Alex Carey b Adam Zampa 9 5 2 0 180.00
Nuwan Pradeep not out 2 3 0 0 66.67

Extras 4 (b 0 , lb 1 , nb 0, w 3, pen 0)
Total 117/10 (18.5 Overs, RR: 6.21)
Fall of Wickets 1-5 (1.4) Kusal Mendis, 2-29 (5.2) Danushka Gunathilaka, 3-53 (8.5) Avishka Fernando, 4-65 (9.6) Niroshan Dickwella, 5-75 (10.5) Kusal Perera, 6-75 (11.2) Dasun Shanaka, 7-93 (14.4) Wanindu Hasaranga, 8-95 (15.4) Isuru Udana, 9-108 (17.3) Lasith Malinga, 10-117 (18.6) Lakshan Sandakan,

Bowling O M R W Econ
Kane Richardson 3 0 17 0 5.67
Billy Stanlake 4 0 23 2 5.75
Pat Cummins 4 0 29 2 7.25
Ashton Agar 4 0 27 2 6.75
Adam Zampa 4 0 20 1 5.00

Batsmen R B 4s 6s SR
Aaron Finch c Kusal Perera b Lasith Malinga 0 1 0 0 0.00
David Warner not out 60 41 8 0 146.34
Steve Smith not out 53 36 5 0 147.22

Extras 5 (b 0 , lb 2 , nb 0, w 3, pen 0)
Total 118/1 (13 Overs, RR: 9.08)
Fall of Wickets 1-1 (0.3) Aaron Finch,

Bowling O M R W Econ
Lasith Malinga 3 0 23 1 7.67
Nuwan Pradeep 3 0 26 0 8.67
Wanindu Hasaranga 1 0 18 0 18.00
Isuru Udana 2 0 16 0 8.00
Lakshan Sandakan 4 0 33 0 8.25

>>Sri Lanka v Australia 2019<<