Sri Lanka T20I squad for Pakistan series announced


Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) selectors have picked a 16-man squad for the upcoming three-match T20I series against Pakistan.

What’s in the way of the Lion’s Roar?

As of 19th October 2017, Sri Lanka Cricket’s record in ODIs for the year 2017 stands at 4 wins 1 no result and a …

All-rounder Thisara Perera will lead the Sri Lankan team after several senior players including the regular limited-overs captain Upul Tharanga stated their reluctance to travel to Pakistan for the 3rd and final T20I on 29th October.

Perera travelled to Pakistan last month with the World XI to play a series of T20I matches to restore international cricket in the country. The first two matches will be played in Abu Dhabi on October 26th and 27th before flying to Lahore for the last match.

Read – Upul Tharanga pulls out of Lahore T20I against Pakistan

SLC had reportedly stated that only one squad will be named for the entire series with some of the seniors requesting for two different squads as the first two matches will be played in the UAE.

From the current ODI squad in the UAE, ninth player to captain Sri Lanka in T20Is, Thisara Perera, young wicket-keeper batsman Sadeera Samarawickrama, fast bowling duo – Lahiru Gamage, Vishwa Fernando and leg-spin twins – Jeffrey Vandersay, Seekkuge Prasanna will remain in the UAE while the others including Dasun Shanaka, who is in the West Indies with the ‘A’ team will arrive in the UAE next week.

 Read – Sports Ministry rejects request for separate team for Lahore T20I

Left-handed opening batsman Danushka Gunathilaka, who served a suspension for breach of discipline, makes a return to international cricket along with a few other T20I specialists in Dilshan Munaweera, Ashan Priyanjan, Isuru Udana and Chathuranga De Silva.

31-year old batsman Mahela Udawatte who last played for Sri Lanka in 2009 has also been named in the squad. Uncapped wicket-keeper batsman Minod Bhanuka has also received his maiden national call-up.

Also Read – Who is Minod Bhanuka?

Sri Lankan team bus was attacked by gunmen in 2009 in Lahore which resulted in loss of cricket in the region and Pakistan moving their ‘home’ games to the UAE.

Sri Lanka T20I squad: Thisara Perera (Captain), Dilshan Munaweera, Danushka Gunathilaka, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Minod Bhanuka, Ashan Priyanjan, Mahela Udawatte, Dasun Shanaka, Sachith Pathirana, Seekkuge Prasanna, Jeffrey Vandersay, Chathuranga De Silva, Vikum Sanjaya, Lahiru Gamage, Vishwa Fernando, Isuru Udana.

Main target is to play all three formats – Munaweera and Priyanjan

Sri Lanka national players Ashan Priyanjan and Dilshan Munaweera sharing their views on their past memories …