Sri Lanka to host 6th Lawyers’ Cricket World Cup


The 6th Lawyer’s Cricket World Cup will be held in Sri Lanka from 10th to 20th August. The Sri Lanka Lawyers’ Cricket Club was awarded the right to host this prestigious tournament for the first time.

The Lawyers’ Cricket World Cup is a biennial Cricket competition played between teams of lawyers from all cricket playing countries. The theme of the tournament is “Cricket for Friendship”. A total of twelve teams will be taking part in this much-acclaimed tournament representing Sri Lanka, India, England, Australia, Pakistan, West Indies and Bangladesh.

The previous tournaments were held in Hyderabad, India (2007), Cambridge, England (2009) Barbados, West Indies (2011), Delhi, India (2013) and Brisbane, Australia (2015/2016). The tournament will have 37 matches at leading venues in Colombo including the P. Saravanamuttu Stadium and the grand final will be played at the acclaimed Sinhalese Sports Club Grounds.

The Sri Lanka Lawyers team participated in the 3rd Lawyers’ Cricket World Cup held in Barbados emerged runners-up, losing narrowly to India in the finals played at the historic Oval Cricket Grounds in Bridgetown. Pursuant to the success of the previous World Cups, the Lawyers’ World Cup has now become a truly international event and will be subject to much acclaim and publicity throughout the entire globe.

The Honorable Chief Justice of Sri Lanka, Justice Priyasath Dep would be formally declaring open the event and the legendary former World Cup winning Sri Lanka captain Arjuna Rantunga, as a Guest of Honour would be setting the ball rolling at the historical P. Sarvanamuttu (Oval) Cricket Stadium.

The event will be witnessed by a great number of distinguished legal luminaries and professionals the world over and each team will be aspiring to win the coveted trophy as it will undoubtedly be of utmost national prestige, honour and glory.

In addition to this tournament being the premier international sporting event for lawyers of the cricket playing nations in the world, it will also be the ideal platform for the promotion of interaction among legal personalities around the globe such as members of the judiciary, legal practitioners and academics.

Group A Group B
India Pakistan
Sri Lanka Australia
Barristers of England & Wales Solicitors of England & Wales
West Indies Bangladesh
Bangladesh B India B
Australia B Sri Lanka B

The team placed first in Group A will play against the team placed second in Group B in one of the Semi Finals and the team placed first in Group B will play against the team placed second in Group A in the other Semi Final.

The team placed third in Group A will play against the team placed fourth in Group B in one of the Semi Finals in the Plate Tournament and the team placed third in Group B will play against the team placed fourth in Group A in the other Semi Final in the Plate Tournament. The Semi Finals and Finals of the Plate Tournament will be twenty overs per side matches.

Sri Lanka’s number 1 sports hub – will be the official online media partner for this tournament.

Fixtures 1

Fixtures 2

Fixtures 3