POW, De Mazenod register easy wins

Singer U17 Division 1 Cricket Tournament 2019


Two games of Singer U17 Division 1 Tournament concluded today, 21st of August 2019. Prince of Wales College played Vidyaloka College while De Mazenod College locked horns with Dharmasoka College. 

Prince of Wales College, Moratuwa vs Vidyaloka College, Galle

The game was worked off at Sri Pali College grounds, Horana. Vidyaloka who batted first after getting the favour of the toss, was shot down for 110 runs. Right-arm seamer Vinuja Ranpul ran through the Vidyaloka line up. He picked up 4 wickets for just 18 runs while he was well assisted by Sasindu Pathum who claimed 3 scalps to his name. 

It was a cake-walk for the Cambrians as they went past the target with 7 wickets intact. Tharindu Geemantha made 39 runs to top the batting for the Moratuwa school while there weren’t any impressive performances from the boys from Galle. 

Brief scores

Vidyaloka College 110 (47.5):L R Chamika 27, Vinuja Ranpaul 4/18, Sasindu Pathum 3/21 Aditha Himasha 2/14

Prince of Wales College 113/3 (17.1):Tharindu Geemantha 39, Omesh Mendis 29

Prince of Wales College won by 7 wickets

Abishek stars in Trinity’s close win

De Mazenod College, Kandana vs Dharmasoka College, Ambalangoda

The Mazenodians hosted the down-south school at their home grounds in Kandana. Opting to put runs on board first, the visitors failed terribly as they were bundled out for a pitiful 62 runs. No batsman from Ambalangoda managed to go past the 20-run mark as the up and coming seamer for De Mazenod College, Sihina Sithumina ran havoc through their batting. The young right-arm speedster rattled the Dharmashoka batsmen as he ended with figures of 4 for 22 runs.

De Mazenod College too did struggle a bit in their chase although they won the game quite comprehensively. Ruvin Fernando topped the batting with 25 runs while Hasindu Dinujaya picked up 3 for 15. 

Brief scores

Dharmashoka College 62 (18.1):Maneesha Rashmika 19, Sihina Sithumina 4/22, Promod Rajamunindra 2/11, Chanuka Silva 2/19

De Mazenod College 63/6 (18.1):Ruvin Fonseka 25, Sheon Fernando 21, Hasindu Dinujaya 3/15, Naveen Rasanga 2/22

De Mazenod College won by 4 wickets

>>> Click here for more schools cricket news <<<