Sri Lanka picks new squad for Olympic qualifiers

Olympic qualifiers – Asia


After the conclusion of the Asia Sevens Series, Sri Lanka Rugby has finalized a 28 member squad ahead of the Olympic qualifier that will be worked off on the 23rd & 24th of November 2019 at the Namdong Stadium in South Korea.

Following the Tuskers’ disappointing 4th place finish in the Asia Sevens Series at the end of the 3 legged competition in Sri Lanka, Sri Lanka Rugby has opted for the experienced players such as Kavindu Perera, Danushka Ranjan & Srinath Sooriyabandara.

Iroshan Silva was impressive for the Tuskers in Colombo

Rugby sevens was introduced to the Olympic Games in 2016 and regional qualifiers are being held to shortlist teams for the Games in 2020.

Read more: No Soori, more debutants for Sri Lanka

For the 2020 Tokyo Olympics, the Asia qualifier will open a second spot regionally since Japan plays host for the games next year and qualifies automatically. 

Read more: Sri Lanka settle for 4th in Asia 7s 3rd leg

The 28-member training squad for the Olympic qualifiers is as follows:

Jason Dissanayaka (Kandy), Danushka Ranjan (Kandy), Srinath Sooriyabandara (Kandy), Kavindu Perera (Kandy), Richard Dharmapala (Kandy), Thilina Bandara (Kandy), Dinuk Amerasinghe (CR & FC), Janidu Dilshan (CR & FC), Reeza Raffaideen (CR & FC), Kevin Dixon (CR & FC), Omalka Gunaratne (CR & FC), Mithun Hapugoda (Havelock SC), Lasindu Ishan (Havelock SC), Vimukthi Rahula (Havelock SC), Kavinda Keshan (Havelock SC), Naveen Henakankanamage (Havelock SC), Nishon Perera (CH & FC), Anuradha Herath (CH & FC), Chathura Seneviratne (Navy), Adeesha Weerathunga (Navy), Ashan Bandara (Army SC), Sudaraka Dikkumbura (Army SC), Sachith Silva (Police), Iroshan Silva (Police), Ravindu Hettiarachchi (Air Force) & Buddhima Piyarathane.

National coach Matt Lee will continue duties until the Olympic qualifiers with Mohammed Mushtaq and Saliya Kumara as his assistants.