Solar Therm Sri Lanka Golf Open Championship 2015


The Sri Lanka Open Golf Championship will be played from the 27th -30th January 2015. The Press briefing of this tournament was held yesterday at the Royal Colombo Golf Club. Mr. Lakshman Jayasooriyam Mr Ranil Peris, Mr. Lal Dias, Mr. Dian Abeygunwardhene and Mr Nalin Manoratene were among the dignitaries who were at the head table.    

The Sri Lanka Open introduced by the Sri Lanka Golf Union in 1970, has had a wonderful journey producing multiple winners from the vicinity of the golf courses who have bought international acclaim by winning Medals at the Asian Games and by performing with credit on the international professional circuits.

The SLGU can be proud that currently as many as Sri Lanka Professionals are playing in the Indian Pro Golf Tour (IPGT) and two of them are also playing in the Asian Pro Golf Tour (APGT)

Sri Lankan Zen Dharmaratne who ranked 29th in the Malaysian Pro Golf Tour will also throw-down his challenge sponsored by CML MTD to participate along-side Mithun Perera.  Perera the Sri Lankan star of 2014 finishing the Asian Tour ranked within the top 50 to earn himself a full Asian Tour Card invitational shots to play in the European Tour as well.

Anura Rohana the seven times winner of the Sri Lanka Open, Thangaraja and Prabagran the defending Champion, Vijith Bandara, Lalith Kumara, Tissa Chandradasa, M. Amamrapadma will face the starter to complete an outstanding field of professional golfers lined to up make the Solar Therm Sri Lanka Open a sensational event offering the highest prize money ever since it`s inception. The amateur challenge is accepted to be led by Amrith De Soysa, Rusi Captain, Arumugam, Sisira Kumara and Alain Gyi all of whom are studying overseas who may make the trip for this important event.  N. Ranga the latest amateur to turn pro and the veteran seven times champion the legendary Nandasena Perera too may tee-off to add further glamour to the event.

The Pro-Am will be played on Sunday January 25th, 2015 preceding the open tournament in a shot-gun format providing an opportunity for all the amateur members to play with the professionals, facilitated by the goodwill sponsorship of ardent and generous supporters of golf in Sri Lanka. Team and individual events for the Dudley Senanayake Trophy, Levers Challenge Sheild Cup and RCGC cup will be conducted by the Sri Lanka Golf union and the special Pro-Am program will by a separate awards celebration and entertainment. A maximum of 126 players on a first come first served basis will be able to play in the Pro-Am.

UTE-Cat will be sponsoring the Pin Fernando Challenge Trophy for the gentlemen members, on the 27th and 28th January which will be played concurrently with the Solar Therm Open while the Pam Fernando Trophy for ladies will be played on the 29th and 30th preceding the final two rounds of the open.

There will be a pre-qualifying round on Monday 26th January to facilitate players with handicaps above 10 and other aspirant professionals to join the professional field which includes all national squad players and amateurs with single figure handicaps.

Spectator interest will be at the peak with many past winners, top Indian pro`s and the Sri Lankan stars participating, striving to win the highest prize money on offer in Sri Lanka professional tournament.