The Sri Lanka Cricket Super T20 Provincial Tournament got underway on Tuesday with two games being played at R. Premadasa International Stadium.

Colombo Commandoes registered a close win over Galle Guardians in the curtain-raiser while Hambanthota Troopers completely trounced Kandy Crusaders.

Colombo Commandoes vs Galle Guardians

Niroshan Dickwella and Dhananjaya De Silva slammed half-tons as Colombo Commandoes recorded a close 2-wicket win over Galle Guardians.

After being sent out to bat by Milinda Siriwardana, Galle managed to score 162 for 6 from their allotted 20 overs. Openers, Dilshan Munaweera and Udara Jayasundara put on 61 for the first wicket but it was Kithruwan Vithanage who made a cracking 32-ball 54 which lifted the Galle score.

Udara stroked 45 with 5 fours and 2 sixes while Kasun Rajitha excelled with the ball for Colombo taking 2 wickets conceding only 10 runs.Chasing a tricky target of 163 runs to win, Colombo got off to an excellent start courtesy Dhanajaya De Silva and Niroshan Dickwella. They put on 89 inside the first 10 overs before Dickwella’s 35-ball 51 with 7 fours and a six was ended by Isuru Udana.

Fast-bowler Dushmantha Chameera came on to the attack as the third-change bowler but he wrecked through the Commandoes’ middle-order taking 4 quick wickets including the prized scalps of Dhananjaya De Silva, Milinda Siriwardana and Dasun Shanaka but the lower middle order held their nerve to get over the line.

Galle Guardians – 162/6 in 20 overs: Kithruwan Vithanage 53, Udara Jayasundara 45, Dilshan Munaweera 20, Kasun Rajitha 2/10, Upul Indrasiri 2/24.

Colombo Commandoes – 163/7 in 19.4 overs: Dhananjaya De Silva 51, Niroshan Dickwella 51, Dushmantha Chammera 4/26, Isuru Udana 2/27.

Kandy Crusaders vs Hambanthota Troopers

Hambanthota Troopers got their campaign off to a winning start by defeating Kandy Crusaders convincingly by 7 wickets.

Photo Album – Super T20 Provincial Championship – Kandy vs. Hambantota

Hambanthota Skipper TM Dilshan won the toss and elected to field first. None of the batsmen got their act together apart of Kandy skipper Lahiru Thirimanne who made a 30-ball 38. Left-arm duo of Binura Fernando and Thilina Thushara took 2 wickets apiece while the spinners, Seekkuge Prasanna and Ashan Priyanjana took 3 wickets amongst them to curtail Crusaders to only 114.

Chasing 115 runs to win, openers TM Dilshan and Seekkuge Prasanna hammered 15 and 25 respectively but Jehan Mubarak and Ashan Priyanjan guided the Troopers home in the 14th over. Jehan (30) and Ashan (27) shared an unbroken 57-run stand for the 4th wicket.

Kandy Crusaders – 114/9 in 20 overs: Lahiru Thirimanne 38, Danushka Gunathilaka 21, Thilina Thushara 2/33, Binura Fernando 2/23, Ashan Priyanjan 2/7.

Hambanthota Troopers – 117/3 in 13.5 overs: Seekkuge Prasanna 25, Jehan Mubarak 30*, Ashan Priyanjan 27*, Suranga Lakmal 1/20.