The second set of the group stage matches in the SLC Super Provincial Limited Over Tournament 2017 was conducted today in Colombo.

Colombo vs Galle

SLC Super ProvincialLeft-arm spinner Malinda Pushpakumara wrecked through the Colombo batting line up after Dasun Shanaka’s belligerent century as Galle defeated Colombo by 188 runs at CCC grounds.

Earlier, Galle skipper Dimuth Karunarathne won the toss and elected to bat first. Karunarathne batting at number 3 scored a fine 86 before being retired out while the two openers, Minod Bhanuka and Sadeera Samarawickrama made 41 and 20 respectively.

Shanaka came out to bat when Galle were four wickets down and he smashed a cracking, unbeaten 121 in 95 balls with 7 fours and 7 massive sixes to propel Galle to 302 for 4 from their allotted 49 overs. Thisara Perera, Jeffrey Vandersay and Shehan Jayasuriya picked up a wicket each for Colombo.

Read More : Sadeera’s ton goes in vain; Chandimal stars in thrilling tie

Chasing a stiff target of 303, Colombo batting lineup was destroyed by the left-arm spin of Pushpakumara as he grabbed 5 for 31 in 6.5 overs. Suranga Lakmal picked up 2 wickets while Chamika Karunarathne, Dhananjaya De Silva and Akila Dhananjaya took one wicket each for the winning team.

Kithruwan Vithanage and Thisara Perera made 26 and 25 respectively as Colombo innings lasted only 26.5 overs as they were bowled out for just 114 runs.

Galle – 302/4 in 50 overs: Dimuth Karunarathne 86, Minod Bhanuka 41, Sadeera Samarawickrama 20, Dasun Shanaka 121*.

Colombo – 114 all out in 26.5 overs: Kithruwan Vithanage 26, Thisara Perera 25, Sachithra Senanayake 13, Malinda Pushpakumara 5/31, Suranga Lakmal 2/20.

Kandy vs Dambulla

SLC Super ProvincialChamara Kapugedara’s excellent century propelled Kandy to a close 19-run win over Dambulla in their high-scoring game played at Colts grounds.

Saracens captain Harsha Cooray representing Dambulla made a superb 109 in 119 deliveries while star national batsman Kusal Mendis stroked a clinical 66-ball 77 but it was not enough for them to chase down the target of 337 as they were bowled out for 317 in the penultimate over of the match. Fast-bowler Lahiru Gamage and off-spinner Dhanushka Gunathilake shared 7 wickets amongst them.

Earlier after being sent into bat, Kandy managed a mammoth 336 on the board. Skipper Kapugedara stroked a fine 102 from 90 balls with 8 fours and 3 sixes while Lahiru Madushanka and Ramith Rambukwella provided the late impetus with unbeaten knocks of 90 and 52 respectively. Madushanka and Rambukwella added 116 runs for the 8th wicket in 52 balls. Dilruwan Perera, Asitha Fernando and Nuwan Kulasekara took 2 wickets apiece but took a beating as all three of them leaked over 70 runs.

Kandy 336/7 in 50 overs: Chamara Kapugedara 102, Lahiru Madushanka 90*, Ramith Rambukwella 52*, Charith Asalanka 25, Dilruwan Perera 2/70, Asitha Fernando 2/71, Nuwan Kulasekara 2/72.

Dambulla – 317 all out in 48.5 overs: Harsha Cooray 109, Kusal Mendis 77, Udara Jayasundera 41, Dilruwan Perera 27, Milinda Siriwardena 22, Lahiru Gamage 4/46, Dhanushka Gunathilake 3/23.