Sachithra Senanayake ‘the batsman’ takes SSC to semi-finals

SLC Major One Day Tournament 2018/19


The quarter-finals of the Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) Major Limited Over Tournament concluded today, with SSC, Saracens, Moors and CCC booking their respective places in the final four. 

SSC vs Ragama CC

Sachithra Senanayake who has revolutionized himself this season to a batting all-rounder, continued to impress at the top of the order for SSC, as they secured a convincing 5 wicket win over Ragama CC. 

Earlier in the day, hostile spells of fast bowling from Sri Lanka fast bowlers Nuwan Pradeep and Dhammika Prasad restricted Ragama CC to just 204 all-out. The duo did the damage early on as Pradeep ended with top figures of 4/30 while Prasad captured three wickets. 

Photos: SSC vs Ragama CC | Major Limited Overs Tournament 2018/19 – Quarter-Final

Senanayake who has been batting at the number three slot for most parts of the tournament had to drop down one slot to make way for Sri Lanka stand-in Test skipper Dimuth Karunaratne who didn’t make much of an impression. 

Senanayake was unfortunate to not reach the three-figure mark but his unbeaten 96* assured SSC got home with more than 10 overs to spare. This was his third half century to go along with a stunning century in just 5 innings in the tournament, as he went to the top of the run scorers list in the tournament with 406 runs at an average of 101.5.

Ragama Cricket Club – 204 (49.5) Sanjaya Chathuranga 58, Ishan Jayaratne 42, Sameera de Zoysa 31, Nuwan Pradeep 4/30, Dhammika Prasad 3/35, Sachithra Senanayake 2/38 
Sinhalese Sports Club – 205/5 (39.2) Sachithra Senanayake 96*, Sandun Weerakkody 64, Akash Senaratne 21, Amila Aponso 2/31, Nishan Peiris 2/63

>>Photos: SSC Team Preview 2018/19<<



Half centuries from Minod Bhanuka, Madawa Warnapura and Wanindu Hasaranga guided CCC to a 46-run victory over NCC, who missed a number of their stars due to national duty. 

Chamika Katunaratne impressed for NCC with the ball capturing four scalps, but CCC put up a competitive 297 batting first, before NCC were bowled out for 251. 

Lahiru Udara played a brave hand for NCC hitting 96 while the promising Hasitha Boyagoda made a stylish half century, but it wasn’t enough as the experienced CCC bowling attack had the NCC batsmen in check right throughout. 

Lahiru Gamage picked up three wickets for CCC while Malinda Pushpakumara and Dilshan Munaweera captured two apiece.  


Colombo Cricket Club – 297 (48.3) Minod Bhanuka 66, Madawa Warnapura 56, Wanindu Hasaranga 51, Dilshan Munaweera 31, Lasith Abeyratne 31, Ron Chandraguptha 24, Chamika Karunaratne 4/36, Dilesh Gunaratne 2/46 
Nondescripts Cricket Club – 251 (46.4) Lahiru Udara 96, Hasitha Boyagoda 50, Mahela Udawatte 43, Nimesha Gunasinghe 25, Lahiru Gamage 3/53, Malinda Pushpakumara 2/32, Dilshan Munaweera 2/39



Army vs Moors

The white ball giant killer in SLC domestic tournament continued to make progress in the tournament, as Moors recorded a comfortable five wicket win over Army SC. 

Army Managed only 209 batting first with quick bowler Shiran Fernando doing bulk of the damage capturing four wickets, before a composed unbeaten 77* from veteran Chamara Silva took Moors home in just the 40th over of their innings.

Photos: Army SC vs Moors SC | Major Limited Overs Tournament 2018/19

Ramesh Mendis also hit a solid half century for the winners who clinched the SLC Major T20 Tournament a couple of weeks back, while Seekuge Prasanna picked up three wickets for the soldiers. 

Army Cricket Club – 209 (49.4) Dilshan de Soysa 57, Seekkuge Prasanna 39, Janith Silva 35, Sanjika Ridma 22, Dushan Vimukth 22, Shiran Fernando 4/25, Ramesh Mendis 2/38, Nimanda Madushanka 2/52 
Moors Sports Club – 210/5 (39.3) Chamara Silva 77* Ramesh Mendis 53, Irosh Samarasooriya 21, Seekkuge Prasanna 3/48

>>Photos : SSC vs Navy CC | Major Limited Over Cricket Tournament 2018/2019<<

Panadura SC vs Saracens SC

Saracens recorded an easy win over Panadura SC – the only Tier B team to make it to the knockouts – as they thrashed them by 7 wickets. 

Panadura SC made 245 batting first on the back of a half century from Asantha Basnayake, while Saliya Saman captured three wickets for Saracens. 

Photos: Saracens SC vs Panadura SC | Major Limited Overs Tournament 2018/19

Saracens were always in control of the run chase as they got there in the 43rd over, with Milinda Siriwardana, Gamindu Kanishka and Andy Solomons hitting half centuries.

Panadura Sports Club – 245 (49.2) Asantha Basnayake 75, Vishva Chathuranga 42, Mishen Silva 35, Saliya Saman 3/48, Ranitha Liyanarachchi 2/31, Andy Solomons 2/61 
Saracens Sports Club – 249/3 (42.4) Milinda Siriwardana 69* Gamindu Kanishka 56, Andy Solomons 51, Ranitha Liyanarachchi 44, Ashen Bandara 25*, Sehan Weerasinghe 2/31