NCC and Panadura SC claim wins in rain-hit day

SLC Major Clubs T20 Tournament 2024


Nondescripts Cricket Club and Panadura Sports Club emerged victorious in their encounters of SLC Major Clubs T20 Tournament 2024 played today (18th May) at Maggona and Colombo.

Nondescripts Cricket Club continued their unbeaten run in the tournament as they registered their third consecutive win against Police Sports Club at Maggona.

Due to the prevailing weather conditions in the island, the game was shortened to an 8-over contest. After been put into bat first, Police Sports Club posted 62/5 in the allotted 8 overs. Kamil Mishara’s blistering knock at the top of the order helped NCC cruised to the target with ease.

Mishara smashed an unbeaten knock of 34 runs off 12 balls with a four and 4 sixes at a strike rate of 283.33 as NCC crossed over the line in the 5th over with 8 wickets in hand.

Panadura Sports Club registered their second win in the tournament as they beat Colts Cricket Club by 5 runs in their Group D encounter played today at NCC Grounds, Colombo.

Batting first, Panadura Sports Club posted 162/6 in the allotted 20 overs on the back of a fine half-century from Lahiru Dawatage. The off-spinner Akila Dananjaya was the pick of the bowlers for Colts Cricket Club as he grabbed 3 wickets for 22 runs.

Colts Cricket Club came close to the winning margin but eventually fell short of the target by just 5 runs. Prabath Asanka, Vishwa Lahiru and Gimandu Malcom picked up 2 wickets each for the victorious Panadura SC.

The other two encounters which were scheduled to be played today – Ragama CC vs Colombo CC and Kurunegala YCC vs Bloomfield C & AC ended without a result due to rain.

Brief Scores  

Police Sports Club – 62/5 (8) Dhanuja Induwara 23, Lahiru Kumara 2/14


Nondescripts Cricket Club – 66/2 (5) Kamil Mishara 34*


Result – Nondescripts Cricket Club won by 8 wickets  


Panadura Sports Club – 162/6 (20) Lahiru Dawatage 57, Oshada Fernando 26, Nimesh Vimukthi 24*, Akila Dananjaya 3/22


Colts Cricket Club – 157/8 (20) Dhananjaya Lakshan 33, Sheran Fonseka 28, Yashodha Lanka 27, Muditha Lakshan 22*, Prabath Asanka 2/21, Vishwa Lahiru 2/27, Gimandu Malcom 2/29


Result – Panadura SC won by 5 runs