Hansamana, Lasanda bowl Galle CC & Air Force SC to win

SLC Major Clubs T20 Tournament 2023


Four more matches were to be held today, but two of them were abandoned due to rain while Galle CC and Air Force SC registered wins at their games.

Negombo CC vs Galle CC

Just the 2nd win for Galle CC as they took a 5-wicket win over Negombo CC at P. Sara Oval Stadium in Colombo.

After having won the toss, Galle CC put the opponents to bat first and restricted them to 130/9 in their 20 overs. Jeewaka Shashen was their top scorer as he scored a 32-ball 45 while Hansamana De Silva bowled a superb spell to pick 3/17 in his 4 overs.

With 9 balls to spare, Galle CC chased down the target, courtesy of experienced Oshada Fernando’s unbeaten 55-ball 72 as Sachindu Colombage’s impressive 3-wicket haul went in vain too.

Panadura SC vs Army SC

Due to rain interruption, this match took place as a 5-over contest, but after 4.4 overs of Panadura SC innings, once again rain stopped play and the match has been abandoned.

Nondescripts CC vs Police SC

The match was to be held at Surray Village Grounds in Maggona, but due to heavy rain, the match was abandoned without a ball being bowled, unfortunately.

Chilaw Marians CC vs Air Force SC

Air Force SC just got their 2nd win as they beat Chilaw Marians CC by a comfortable margin of 5 wickets at P. Sara Oval Stadium in Colombo.

Chilaw Marians CC posted 154/7 after being put to bat by their opposition. Chamod Sandaru stroked an unbeaten fifty while Damitha Silva has fallen after a 40-run knock before the skipper, Pulina Tharanga finished the innings on a high with a 17-ball 32. Lasanda Rukmal bagged 3/26 while Praveen De Silva also took a couple.

Read : Asela Gunaratne stars as Army SC pull off incredible run-chase

Adithya Siriwardana retired out after a 45-ball 54 while Madushanka Premarathne smashed 37 off just 21 balls as Air Force SC reached the target with just 3 balls to spare. With no support from the other end, Kavindu Nirmana picked all 4 wickets that fell in the run chase.

Brief Scores:

Negombo CC 130/9 (20) Jeewaka Shashen 45, Kavindu Irosh 30, Hansamana De Silva 3/17, Tharinda Nirmal 2/24

Galle CC 134/5 (18.3) Oshada Fernando 72*, Sachindu Colombage 3/19, Nishan Peiris 1/15, Sheshan Fernando 1/17

Result: Galle CC won by 5 wickets.

Chilaw Marians CC 154/7 (20( Chamod Sandaru 53*, Damitha Silva 40, Pulina Tharanga 32, Lasanda Rukmal 3/26

Air Force SC 156/4 (19.3) Adithya Siriwardana 54, Madushanka Premarathne 37, Kemira Wijenayake 35, Kavindu Nirmana 4/36

Result: Air Force SC won by 6 wickets.