Chandimal’s half-ton goes in vain; NCC & Chilaw into Final

SLC Invitation L/O Tournament 2019/20


Nondescripts Cricket Club (NCC) and Chilaw Marians Cricket Club managed to secure their spots in the final of SLC Invitation Limited Over Tournament 2019/20 as they defeated Army Cricket Club and Sinhalese Sports Club respectively in the semi-final encounters worked off today in Colombo and Katunayake. 

Read More : Dinesh Chandimal guides Soldiers in tricky run chase

Nondescripts Cricket Club vs Army Cricket Club

NCC managed to defeat Army Cricket Club by 22 runs in a low scoring thriller which was worked off today at the SSC Grounds in Colombo. After winning the toss, the NCC skipper Angelo Perera chose to bat first but NCC lost their first 5 wickets for just 68 runs. However, the skipper himself rescued the innings, building a 79-run partnership with Sahan Arachchige for the 6th wicket. 

Perera made 45 runs off 85 balls while Arachchige finished as the top scorer of the innings as he stroked 56 runs off 83 balls with 4 fours. After their departure, there was no significant contribution with the bat from the lower order as they were bundled out for 194 runs in 49.3 overs. Janith Silva and Heshan Hettiarachchi shone with the ball taking 3 scalps each for the Soldiers. 

Read : Sachindu Colombage’s 5-wicket haul keeps NCC unbeaten

Chasing a modest total of 195 runs to win, the Soldiers were never in it as they continued to lose wickets at regular intervals and were eventually bowled out for 172 runs in 42.1 overs. Dinesh Chandimal who is trying to regain his place in the Sri Lankan ODI team, stroked 91 runs off 109 balls including 10 fours and a six at a strike rate of 83.48. 

Thisara Perera who has arrived in the Island after playing in the Bangladesh Premier League, played for his new club Army Cricket Club today but made only 16 runs. Sachindu Colombage, the leg spinner on the rise, showed his tricks with the ball, taking 3 wickets for 54 runs while the left arm seamer Dilesh Gunarathne picked up 2 wickets for 18 runs. 

Photos: NCC Vs Army SC – SLC Invitation Limited Over Tournament 2019-20 | SF 2

Brief scores 

Nondescripts Cricket Club – 194 (49.3) Angelo Perera 45, Sahan Arachchige 56, Chamika Karunarathne 24, Janith Silva 3/20, Heshan Hettiarachchi 3/34, Dushan Vimukthi 2/32, Asela Gunarathne 2/34 

Army Cricket Club – 172 (42.1) Dinesh Chandimal 91*, Sachindu Colombage 3/54, Dilesh Gunarathne 2/18, Chamika Gunasekara 2/37 

Result – Nondescripts Cricket Club won by 22 runs 

Sinhalese Sports Club vs Chilaw Marians Sports Club  

Chilaw Marians Sports Club defeated the star studded Sinhalese Sports Club by 3 wickets today at FTZ Sports Complex in Katunayake. After being put into bat by the Chilaw Marians’ skipper Shehan Jayasuriya, the SSC opening pair Dimuth Karunrathne and Sandun Weerakkody got them off to a good start, putting on a 69 run partnership for the opening wicket. 

Weerakkody who just scored the fastest List A century for Sri Lanka a few days ago, continued his good form with the bat, scoring 57 runs off 47 balls including 11 fours. Sachithra Senanayaka who has improved his batting in recent times, batted at number 3 and scored 86 runs off 88 balls with 6 fours and 3 massive sixes. 

Photos: SSC Vs Chilaw MCC | SF 1 | SLC Invitation Limited Over Tournament 2019-20

The right handed batsman Shammu Ashan scored an unbeaten 71 runs off 78 balls including 4 fours and a six. Senanayake and Ashan built a 110-run partnership for the 4th wicket as they posted 277 runs for 8 wickets in the allotted 50 overs. The off spinner Shehan Jayasuriya and the right arm seamer Thikshila De Silva picked up 2 wickets each for Chilaw Marians. 

Chasing a challenging target of 278 runs to win, Chilaw Marians lost their first 3 wickets for 65 runs in 12.3 overs, including the in-form batsmen Lasith Croospulle and Kamindu Mendis. However, Indian born Sumit Ghadigaonkar who scored a century against Panadura Sports Club in the quarter final yesterday, built a match winning 110-run partnership with skipper Shehan Jayasuriya for the 4th wicket.

Ghadigaonkar missed a well deserved 2nd consecutive ton as he made 99 runs off 111 balls with 14 fours and a six. Jayasuriya stroked a valuable 57 runs off 52 balls including 5 fours and a six at a strike rate of 109.61. The veteran speedster Dhammika Prasad was the pick of the bowlers for SSC as he took 3 wickets for 62 runs. 

Read Also : Kamindu Mendis guides Chillaw Marians into the Quarter finals

Brief scores 

Sinhalese Sports Club – 277/8 (50) Sachithra Senanayaka 86, Shammu Ashan 71*, Sandun Weerakkody 57, Shehan Jayasuriya 2/20, Thikshila De Silva 2/51 

Chilaw Marians Sports Club – 279/7 (46.4) Sumit Ghadigaonkar 99, Shehan Jayasuriya 57, Thikshila De Silva 31, Nimesh Vimukthi 20*, Chaturanga Kumara 16*, Dammika Prasad 3/62, Himesh Ramanayaka 2/48 

Result – Chilaw Marians Sports Club won by 3 wickets