18 teams for Water Polo Novices 2023


The Novices Water Polo Championships 2023, organized by the Sri Lanka Aquatic Sports Union, will be held on the 16th of February 2023 at the Sri Lanka Airforce Swimming Pool Complex, Rathmalana.

The tournament is scheduled to run under three age groups: Under 16, Under 20 and Open. Eighteen teams will play on a knockout basis this Thursday. Out of the 18 teams, five are Under 16 Boys, and four are Under 16 Girls. In the Under 20 category, three teams will compete against each other in the Girls’ and Boys’ categories. At the same time, three teams will play in the Open Mens’ category.

According to the draw that took place on the 13th of February at the SLASU office, the fixtures for this Thursday at Rathmalana are as follows.

When looking back at last year’s results, the Under-16 champions were Ladies’ College and Royal College. Ladies College also managed to win in the Under 20 age group, while S. Thomas’ College won in that category as well. Sri Lanka Army won the Open Men’s category at the 2022 Novices.