Shehan Jayasuriya, Oshada Fernando tons demolish Army


The fourth week matches of the Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) Premier League Tier A Tournament began around the island today.

Moors vs Bloomfield

The Bloomfield fast bowling duo of Imran Khan and Lahiru Samarakoon shared six wickets between them as Moors SC was bowled out for 163.

Bloomfield drove home the advantage on the back of a Nisal Fransisco half ton as they reached 132/4 at stumps trailing just by 31 runs.

Moors Sports Club 163 (43.2) Shanuka Dulaj 39, Tharindu Ratnayake 36, Primosh Perera 20, Lahiru Samarakoon 4/56, Imran Khan 2/13, Ramesh Mendis 2/73

Bloomfield Cricket and Athletic Club 132/4 (43.3) Nisal Fransisco 61, Sachin Jayawardane 38*, Tharindu Rathnayake 2/55

Tamil Union vs BRC

A classy century from former Sri Lanka Test opener Tharanga Paranavithana put Tamil Union in a strong position in their match against BRC at the P. Sara Oval. Former Peterite Dineth Thimodya also chipped in with a half century as Tamil Union ended the day on 288/6 with Vikum Sanjaya picking up two wickets for the visitors.

Tamil Union Cricket And Athletic Club 288/6 (90) Tharanga Paranavithana 114, Dineth Thimodya 57, Shakila Karunanayake 37, Manoj Sarathchandra 33, Vikum Sanjaya 2/55

Burgher Recreation Club

SLPACC vs Badureliya

All-rounder Maduka Liyanapathiranage hit a fighting century as he led Ports Authority to 328/8 at close.  He got very good support from wicket-keeper batsman Prashan Wickramasinghe who was unfortunate to miss out on a century being dismissed for 88, while Sri Lanka A cap Alankara Asanka captured six wickets for Badureliya SC.

Sri Lanka Ports Authority CC 328/8 (83) Maduka Liyanapathiranage 101*, Prashan Wickramasinghe 88, Adeel Malik 25, Gihan Rupasinghe 48, Alankara Asanka 6/71, Nimnada Subasinghe 2/55  

Badureliya Cricket Club

Chilaw Marians vs Army SC

Chilaw Marians stamped their authority in their game against a hapless Army unit, as they reached 418/4 declared at stumps.

The highlight of their innings was a mammoth unbeaten 181* by former St. Sebastian’s College, Moratuwa batsman Oshada Fernando, while the aggressive Shehan Jayasuriya hit 118 off just 108 balls. The duo was also involved in a 181 run stand for the second wicket.

Sachithra Serasinghe also chipped in with a century as the soldiers toiled all day along with right arm seamer Janith Silva capturing two wickets.

Chilaw Marians Cricket Club 418/4d (90) Oshada Fernando 181, Shehan Jayasuriya 118, Sachithra Serasinghe 65, Risith Upamal 41, Janith Silva 2/59

Army Cricket Club


Ashan Priyanjan, Madawa Warnapura and Kavin Bandara all hit half centuries as CCC registered 314 all-out in their first innings.

 Left arm quick Akthab Cader was the most successful bowler for SSC picking up three wickets while Kasun Madhusanka and Sachithra Senanayake picked up two wickets each.

SSC closed the day on 24/0 and will look to build a stable platform come day two through their solid top order.

Colombo Cricket Club 314 (80.5) Ashan Priyanjan 84, Madawa Warnapura 79, Kavin Bandara 53, Lasith Abeyratne 43, Akthab Cader 3/45, Kasun Madushanka 2/33, Sachithra Senanyake 2/88

Sinhalese Sports Club 24/0 (7) Dimuth Karunarathne 24*