Schools Rugby starts on 25th February; FIXTURES OUT!

Schools Rugby League 2019


The celebrated Schools Rugby League for the 2019 year will kick off on the 25th February – March 3 week as the fixtures for the 1st round have been released.

>>#Schools Rugby HUB<<

The premier rugby tournament in the country, the Singer Schools Rugby League 2019 will be having an early start this year with the games set to start in the final week of February and expected to continue for five weeks straight.

A total of 12 teams will feature in the top division divided in the 2 groups for the first round. In the 1st round, each of them will play each other in the group and the top 4 finishers will make it to the cup championship. The bottom of each group will make it the Plate championship.

Read More: Senior Eagle Markarim to lead Antonians

New entrants to the ‘A’ Division, Maliyadeva College will be in Group IA while Science College who get their promotion ticket after a year in the ‘B’ Division will be in Group IIA.

The groups for 2019 is as follows:

PositionGroup IAGroup IIA
1Royal CollegeSt. Joseph’s College
2St. Peter’s CollegeIsipathana College
3Kingswood CollegeTrinity College
4Wesley CollegeZahira College
5S. Thomas’ CollegeSt. Anthony’s College
6Maliyadeva CollegeScience College

The groupings are based on last year’s positions in the Singer Schools Rugby League. Check the Points Table from 2018 on ThePapare Stats Centre

Last year’s Schools Rugby League winners Royal College will lead the seeding in the Group IA while St. Joseph’s College who were league runners-up will sit on top of the Group IIA.

Read More: Isipathana appoint new Rugby Captain ahead of 2019 Schools season

The victorious Royal College side of 2018

The Plate champions from last year, S. Thomas’ College make it to the 5th seed in the IA while the runners up St. Anthony’s are grouped IIA.

The fixtures for the Schools Rugby League 2019

WeekHome TeamVisiting TeamVenueTime
Week – 1 Feb 25 – Mar 3
Royal CollegeMaliyadeva CollegeRoyal Complex4.00 p.m.
St. Joseph’s CollegeScience CollegeTBC4.00 p.m.
S. Thomas’ CollegeSt. Peter’s CollegeTBC4.00 p.m.
St. Anthony’s CollegeIsipathana CollegeNittawela4.00 p.m.
Kingswood CollegeWesley CollegeBogambora4.00 p.m.
Zahira CollegeTrinity CollegeZahira Grounds4.00 p.m.
Week – 2 Mar 4 – 10
S. Thomas’ CollegeRoyal CollegeTBC4.00 p.m.
St. Anthony’s CollegeSt. Joseph’s CollegeNittawela4.00 p.m.
Maliyadeva CollegeWesley CollegeMaliyadeva Grounds4.00 p.m.
Science CollegeZahira CollegeScience Grounds4.00 p.m.
Kingswood CollegeSt. Peter’s CollegeBogambora4.00 p.m.
Trinity CollegeIsipathana CollegePallekelle4.00 p.m.
Week-3 Mar 11 – 17
Royal CollegeWesley CollegeRoyal Complex4.00 p.m.
St. Joseph’s CollegeZahira CollegeTBC4.00 p.m.
S. Thomas’ CollegeKingswood CollegeTBC4.00 p.m.
Trinity CollegeSt. Anthony’s CollegePallekelle4.00 p.m.
Maliyadeva CollegeSt. Peter’s CollegeMaliyadeva Grounds4.00 p.m.
Science CollegeIsipathana CollegeTBC4.00 p.m.
Week-4 Mar 18 – 24
Kingswood CollegeRoyal CollegeBogambora4.00 p.m.
St. Joseph’s CollegeTrinity CollegeTBC4.00 p.m.
Wesley CollegeSt. Peter’s CollegeLongdon Place4.00 p.m.
Isipathana CollegeZahira CollegeHavelock Park4.00 p.m.
S. Thomas’ CollegeMaliyadeva CollegeSTC Grounds4.00 p.m.
St. Anthony’s CollegeScience CollegeNittawela4.00 p.m.
Week-5 Mar 25 – 31
St. Peter’s CollegeRoyal CollegeSPC Grounds4.00 p.m.
Isipathana CollegeSt. Joseph’s CollegeHavelock Park4.00 p.m.
Kingswood CollegeMaliyadeva CollegeBogambora4.00 p.m.
Trinity CollegeScience CollegePallekelle4.00 p.m.
S. Thomas’ CollegeWesley CollegeTBC4.00 p.m.
Zahira CollegeSt. Anthony’s CollegeZahira Grounds4.00 p.m.

*Note – fixture dates and venues are subjected to confirmation