Royal College Diving takes on Thailand


The Diving Team of Royal College, Colombo will compete in their first ever International School’s Diving Championship at the Thailand Open School’s Invitational Diving Championship 2018 from the 19th – 24th December, in Bangkok, Thailand.

Sri Lanka off to a shaky start in China

The Tournament will have three 3 standard events, 1m Springboard, 3m Springboard and the Platform. The team has a diverse set of divers with 15 boys from different age groups. The school team has performed impeccably throughout the year and is determined to make a name for themselves at the international stage.

Season so far…

Royal College Diving was able to retain the two main Novices Championship Trophies for two consecutive years. They were the winners of the Sri Lanka Schools Diving Championship, National Age Groups Diving Championship, Runners-up of the National Diving Championship as well as the champs of the Junior Nationals Diving Championship.

Leading the pack is Isiwaruna De Silva, a 2-time coloursmen of Royal College and an instrumental member of the squad for almost 12 years. Taking on the Vice Captaincy will be Savinda Dissanayake, also a prominent player in the Royal College side.

Isiwaruna De Silva, Sawinda Dissanayake, Prasad Dissanayake, Abhishek Meegalla, Matheesha Marambe and Induwara Gunawardena will be the players to drive the team on the charge in Thailand, as they hold the most experience in the team.

Royal College Diving Team

  • Isiwaruna De Silva ( C )
  • Sawinda Dissanayake ( VC )
  • Prasad Dissanayake
  • Binuja Amaranayake
  • Movindu Katugampala
  • Abhishek Meegalla
  • Akindu Samaraweera
  • Yamith Jayakodi
  • Matheesha Marambe
  • Induwara Gunawardena
  • Senuja Ranasinghe
  • Yusuf Shihar
  • Venuka Kankanamge
  • Imeth De Silva
  • Vimath Nahallage

>>Click here for more Aquatics<<