Royal College continue winning streak

Under 15 Division 1 Cricket


First Innings win for Royal College

After winning the toss, St. Joseph Vaz College who opted to bat first was bowled out for just 71 runs. Achintha Deshan was the only batsman to challenge the Royal College bowlers scoring the bulk of the runs to be unbeaten on 38. Kanishka Dayaratne picked up four wickets for 37 runs.

Uvindu Weerasekara and ResanduThilakaratne were in impeccable form scoring tons for the Reid Avenue boys to take them to a massive score of 375/5 at the close of play. Achintha Deshan once again was the stand out with figures of 2 for 84 for the Vazians.

St. Joseph Vaz College, Wennappuwa 71 (28.2 over’s) : Achintha Deshan 38*, Kanika Dayarathna 4/37, Uthum Dissanayake 3/12, Sadisha Rajapaksha 2/05


Royal College, Colombo 373/5 (74 over’s) : Uvindu Weerasekara 104, Resandu Thilakarathna100, Sadisha Rajapaksha 68, Damith Kappagoda 44*, Achintha Deshan 2/84

Result – Royal College won first innings

Results of the Second round matches in Under 15 Cricket

Rahula College keeps Maris Stella at bay

Rahula College travelled to the coast of Negombo for their second round fixture against Maris Stella College Negombo to book a place in the Under 15 Division one pre-quarter finals.

Batting First the Maristonians were able to post a commendable score of 228 for the loss of 7 wickets before they declared. Shane Wijesinghe top scored for Maris Stella with 83 whilst Pasindu Silva contributed with a valuable 45 runs. For Rahula College; Dulneth, Dilshan and Sakbo shared two wickets a piece between them.

Batting second Rahula College’s most dependable and consistent all-rounder Ruvindu Dilshan stepped up to the challenge once again before he was dismissed for 25. The Rahula tail was able to hold their defense until umpires Sajith Asanga and Priyantha Thiseera called for the end of the day’s play. Pasindu Silva and Pidusha Fernando picked up 2 for 14 and 2 for18 respectively.

Maris Stella College, Negombo 228/7d (54 over’s) : Shane Wijesinghe 83, Pasindu Silva 45, Chamath Gomes 30, Kaveen Fernando 27, Manuja Dulneth 2/29, Ruvinda Dilshan 2/44, Nisal Sakbo 2/62


Rahula College, Matara 99/8 (46 over’s) Ruvinda Dilshan 25, Pasindu Silva 2/14, Pidusha Fernando 2/18, Navindu Wijesuriya 2/19, Iveen Fernando 2/25

Result – Match Drawn

Wins for the St. Peters and Prince of Wales

Dharmapala College settles for a draw

St. Anthony’s College Kandy took on Kottawa Dharmapala in Bandaragama. After winning the toss Dharmapala decided to field first. The Anthonian boys looked rock solid to post a competitive score of 246 for the loss of six wickets. Chandimal Herath topped scored for St. Anthony’s College with an unbeaten 72 and Praveen Nawarathna scored a valiant 71.  

Put into bat just before tea, Dharmapala College looked to settle for a draw. But the Anthonians fought hard to dismiss 6 Dharmapala batsmen in the process. Madushika Perera and Malindu Semila played a pivotal role to help Dharmapala College hold on to a draw. Anjala Bandara was St. Anthony’s most impressive bowler picking up 3 wickets for 19 runs.

St. Anthony’s College, Kandy 246/6d (65 over’s) : Chandimal Herath 72*, Praveen Nawarathna 71, Bimsara Jayasekara 34, Anjana Bandara 22, Madushika Perera 2/36


Dharmapala MV, Kottawa 123/6 (38 over’s) : Madushika Perera 36, Malindu Semila 33, Anjala Bandara 3/19

Result – Match Drawn