Royal and Musaeus dominate Schools’ Rowing Nationals

Schools National Rowing

The 4th Annual Sri Lanka Schools’ Rowing Championship organised by the Sri Lanka Schools’ Rowing Association was held from the 28th to the 30th of October 2016, at the Colombo Rowing Club.

The regatta hosted three days of intense rowing as the schools battled it out to finish on top of the schools’ rowing arena. Royal College, S. Thomas’ College, Ananda College, Asian International School, St. Joseph’s College, Gateway International School, Nalanda College and St. Peter’s College were amongst the boys’ schools, while Musaeus College, Ladies’ College, Bishop’s College, Visakha Vidalaya and the Defence Services School fought it out in the girls’ category.

The regatta was held over a 1000 meter course at the Beira Lake and races were rowed under different age categories such as under 14, 16, 18 and 20.

Suhith Alexander of Ananda College emerged victorious in the under 18 category in the single sculls (1X) as he raced against Arjun Wikramanayake of S. Thomas’ and Reyon Galappaththi of St. Joseph’s. Meanwhile in the concurrent girls’ single sculls (1X), Ishara Abbey and Davina Koch of Ladies’ College came in at first and second place in the finals and were followed by Umanda Tennekoon of Visakha Vidyalaya.

In the boys’ under 18 double sculls (2X), Suhith Alexander won yet another gold medal for Ananda College as he and Janith Welaratne beat Waruna Hewamanne and Jatukarana Rockwood of Royal College. Ishara Abbey too won her second gold medal for Ladies as she, alongside with Nihara Warawita beat their arch rivals Maedhini de Alwis and Senuri de Silva of Musaeus College in the finals.

Schools’ Rowing Nationals – the big four dominate heats

The 5th Schools’ Rowing Championship started off on Friday, the 28th October 2016, at the Colombo Rowing Club. The regatta will be raced over the course of 5 days, until 1st October 2016. It will featured over a 1000 meter course, and athletes will compete in the under 14, 16, 18 and 20 categories.

The coxless pairs (2-) event featured some exiting races as Shailindra Jayasekara and Lakshan Sri Pragash of S.Thomas’ College came in first place followed by Kiaan Ahamed and Champaka Edirimanne of Asian International School and Lasindu Gamage and Charin Wijethilake of Royal College in second and third place, respectively. In the girl’s category, Ranuli Wickramasekara and Binali de Alwis of Musaeus College continued their LC-MC superiority as they beat Chanika Gunathilake and Shannon Perera of Ladies’ College, while Umanda Tennekoon and Suhara Malwattage of Visakha Vidyalaya walked away with the bronze medal.

In the under 18 boys’ coxed fours (4+) race, Asian International School was sandwiched in between two Royal College fours as they finished in second place. The gold-medal Royal four comprised of Pasindu Alwis, Lasindu Gamage, Sajaad Ajmal, Ishira Rambukwella and was coxed by Revata Karunasundara. Musaeus College walked away with the gold medal in the girls’ category with, Binali de Alwis, Maedhini de Alwis, Ranuli Wickramasekara, Senuri de Silva and Mayanthi Weerakoon (cox).

In the most anticipated under 20 age category races, Hashen Weerakkody of Royal College was placed first in the single sculls (1X) event followed by Nadun Hettiarachchi of Asian International School and Himendra Rodrigo of St. Joseph’s College in silver and bronze respectively. Isuri Kumarasinghe of Musaeus College won the gold medal in the girls’ single sculls (1X) race.

The double sculls (2X) race in the boys’ category saw Hashen Hettigoda and Lasaru Kudaligama of Royal College reign supreme as they beat Kemil Peter and Deshitha Hennayake of S. Thomas’ College (silver) and the Weerakkody twins of Royal College, Hashen and Praveen (bronze). Winning Bishop’s College a gold medal, Naveksha Gunasekara and Thavisha Attanayake beat Niseni Hewamallika and Ashvini Jayathilake of Musaeus College.

The coxless pairs (2-) races saw Anandians Thineth Jayasuriya and Thisala Naveendya beating Praveen Hapugalle and Thimesha Amarasena of Royal College to clinch gold while, Naveksha Gunasekara and Thavisha Attanayake of Bishop’s College won their second medal in the girls’ category.

In the much awaited under 20 coxed fours (4+), Musaeus College consisting of Niseni Hewamallika, Lishadi Mayadunne, Isuri Kumarasinghe, Ashvini Jayathilake and Mayanthi Weerakoon beat another Musaeus four and Bishop’s College to take home gold. Royal College emerged victorious in the men’s category as the two fours that raced came in first and third place. Ananda College took away the silver medal in the final race. The winning Royal College four comprised of Praveen Hapugalle, Kaveen Rajapakse, Hashen Hettigoda, Prathap Perera and was coxed by Avishka Jayaweera.

Overall, Royal College and Musaeus College walked away with the under 20 titles while Ananda College and Ladies’ College won the under 18 title. The overall under 16 trophies were won by Royal College and Ladies College in the girls’ and boys’ categories respectively.

The Schools’ Nationals Regatta thus brought an end to the rowing season for 2016 and has with no doubt, been an eventful and intense season.