Richmond College take major honours in 113th encounter

113th lover Quarrel

The 113th ‘Lover’s Quarrel’ ended in a draw as Richmond College took major honours in their annual cricket encounter against Mahinda College at Galle International Cricket Stadium today.  

Mahinda College resumed day two on 70 runs for 3 wickets and a batting collapse saw them bundled out for 118 runs. Navod Paranavithana (27) and Hansika Welihinda (26) top scored for Mahinda College. Left arm spinner Dilum Sudheera and off spinner Sandun Mendis were brilliant with the ball for Richmondites as they picked up 5 wickets each.

Richmond College commenced their second innings 52 runs ahead and posted 150 runs for 5 wickets before they declared the innings. Thaveesha Abishek stroked an unbeaten 71 runs which came off 79 balls and included 8 fours. Sri Lanka capped right arm seamer Nipun Malinga picked up 2 wickets for Mahinda College.

Chasing a target of 203 runs to win, Mahinda College lost inform batsman Navod Paranavithana in the very first ball in the innings without troubling the scorers. Number three batsman Vinura Dulsara was then dismissed for just 2 runs putting Mahinda batters under some pressure at 6 runs for 2 wickets. However, play was not possible for too long  after as the umpires called stumps on day two around 4.30 pm.

At stumps, Mahinda College was 20 runs for 2 wickets. Both wickets were taken by Richmond left arm spinner Avindu Theekshana who bowled 7 overs including 4 maidens and gave away only 5 runs.


Full Scorecard

Richmond College

170/10 & 150/4

(33 overs)


Mahinda College

118/10 & 20/2

(15 overs)

Match Drawn

Richmond College’s 1st Innings

Kamindu Mendis c Vinura Dulsara b Prameeth Thevarapperuma413
Dhananjaya Lakshan c Prameeth Thevarapperuma b Kavindu Ediriweera3169
Adithya Siriwardena b Navod Paranavithana1027
Thaveesha Abishek st. by Vinura Dulsara b Pasan Pethangoda953
Duveen Kalanasuriya c Subanu Rajapaksha b Navod Paranavithana4272
Dilum Sudeera lbw by Pasan Pethangoda2581
Avindu Theekshana c Prameeth Thevarapperuma b Pasan Pethangoda2232
Sandun Mendis c Navod Paranavithana b Pasan Pethangoda47
Vimud Sapnaka b Navod Paranavithana16
Vishmitha Wijesiri c Kavindu Ediriweera b Pasan Pethangoda814
Amshi de Silva not out26
Nipun Malinga80140 1.75
Pasan Pethangoda12.41465 3.71
Prameeth Thevarapper51121 2.40
Navod Paranavithana157203 1.33
Subanu Rajapaksha82220 2.75
Kavindu Ediriweera120391 3.25
Kevin Kotthigoda2090 4.50
170/10 (62.3 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-07, 2-27, 3-58, 4-60, 5-116, 6-134, 7-146, 8-160, 9-160, 10-170

Mahinda College’s 1st Innings

Navod Paranavithana b Sandun Mendis2758
Hansika Welihinda lbw by Dilum Sudeera2679
Vinura Dulsara c Avindu Theekshana b Dilum Sudeera953
Kevin Kotthigoda c Sandun Mendis b Dilum Sudeera63
Kavindu Ediriweera lbw by Sandun Mendis423
Nipun Malinga st. by Sammu Vimud Sapnaka b Sandun Mendis1317
Ashen Kandambi c Dhananjaya Lakshan b Dilum Sudeera114
Reshan Kavinda st. by Sammu Vimud Sapnaka b Sandun Mendis1122
Pasan Pethangoda c Sammu Vimud Sapnaka b Dilum Sudeera938
Prameeth Thevarapper c & b Sandun Mendis210
Subanu Rajapaksha not out26
Dhananjaya Lakshan51210 4.20
Amshi de Silva50150 3.00
Sandun Mendis196385 2.00
Dilum Sudeera20.49295 1.42
Avindu Theekshana4190 2.25
118/10 (53.4 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-40, 2-57, 3-63, 4-80, 5-80, 6-90, 7-99, 8-106, 9-114, 10-118