Priyanjan to lead SLC Board President’s XI against Kiwis


Middle order batsman Ashan Priyanjan will lead the Sri Lanka Board President’s XI for the three-day warm-up game against New Zealand which starts tomorrow (8th August) in Katunayake.

Priyanjan, who has never played Test cricket will be hoping to make a statement following a couple of good domestic seasons with the bat. 

Sri Lanka announce Test squad for New Zealand series

Players like Danushka Gunathilaka, Oshada Fernando and Angelo Perera will be aiming to prove a point from this match as they’re already named in the 22-member preliminary squad to face the Blackcaps in the Test series. 

Young seamers, Chamika Karunaratne and Asitha Fernando will lead the bowling lineup, along with Jeffrey Vandersay, who was omitted from the ODI squad following the World Cup. 

Leg-spinner Wanindu Hasaranga and left-arm spinner Amila Aponso is set to provide cover for Vandersay. 

The first Test will be played in Galle starting August 14, and the second will begin on 22 August at P. Sara stadium in Colombo.

The three-day warm-up match will be shown live on Dialog Television Channel No.77 and from 9.45am onwards. 

SL Board President’s XI Squad Ashan Priyanjan (Captain), Danushka Gunathilaka, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Oshada Fernando, Minod Bhanuka, Pathum Nissanka, Bhanuka Rajapaksha, Angelo Perera, Chamika Karunaratne, Asitha Fernando, Mohammed Shiraz, Jeffrey Vandersay, Amila Aponso, Wanindu Hasaranga, Nisala Tharaka

>>Sri Lanka v New Zealand 2019<<