Tough challenge for Sri Lanka U23 Men

3rd Asian Men’s U23 Volleyball Championship 2019


The Sri Lanka Men’s U23 Volleyball Team will participate in the 3rd Asian Men’s U23 Volleyball Championship which will be held from 3rd until the 11th of August in Nay-Pyi-daw, Myanmar.

Ports Authority 5th in Asian Men’s Club Volleyball Championship

Sri Lanka Ports Authority finished in 5th place at the 2019….

This year’s competition will be its third edition in history having been inaugurated back in 2015 alongside the U18 and U20 versions that already existed prior to that and has provided players in and above the ages of 20 to compete in the international level.

The previous two editions have been played in 2015 and 2017 while Sri Lanka made its debut in the competition in the latter version being placed 10th out of 11 teams at the conclusion of the tournament. 

This year’s tournament will be played under 4 groups with Sri Lanka being drawn in group ‘A’ alongside the hosts Myanmar, Australia and Hong Kong. 

Team and Coaches

Shehan Lakshitha is bestowed with the responsibility of leading the team in this tournament while Channa Jayasekara will provide his guidance and expertise to the team as its Head Coach. Chaminda Jayarathne and Indika Fernando will be acting as the assistant coach and trainer, respectively. 

The squad is comprised of 4 quick attackers, 5 high attackers, 2 setters and 1 libero player. 2 players from the Ceylon Electricity Board have made it to the squad with them being the captain Shehan Lakshitha and Sanka Dilshan while 4 players from MAS Leisureline; namely Vinod Maduranga, Reshan Madushanka, Nuwan Tharaka and Gayan Madushanka have found their places in the squad. 

Avishka Kaushalya, Ashen Danushka and Achira Senanayake are the 03 players that have been selected representing the Nattandiya United Sports Club while Kavindu Pabasara is selected representing Teejay Lanka PLC.

Further, 2 school players have paved their way into the squad; namely Tharusha Chamath and Shehan Madushanka, both from St. Joseph Vaz College, Wennappuwa.


Shehan Lakshitha (Ceylon Electricity Board)Sanka Dilshan (Ceylon Electricity Board)Vinod Maduranga (MAS Leisureline)Rehan Madushanka (MAS Leisureline)Nuwan Tharaka (MAS Leisureline)Gayan Madushanka (MAS Leisureline)Kavindu Pabasara (Teejay Lanka PLC)Avishka Kaushalya (Nattandiya United)Ashen Danushka (Nattandiya United)Achira Senanayake (Nattandiya United)Tharusha Chamath (St. Joseph Vaz College)Shehan Madushanka (St. Joseph Vaz College)

>>For more Volleyball News Click Here<<