Roshen Silva, Nishan Madhushka score big; Ragama put on a run marathon

SLC Major League Tournament 19/20


Six matches of Tier A of the SLC Major League Tournament were played today, while six more matches in Tier B were played as well. Roshen Silva and Nishan Madhushka put on a scintillating batting performance when the duo went on to score 165 and 154 respectively against a strong Lankan CC bowling attack.

Lankan Cricket Club vs. Ragama Cricket Club

After bowling out Lankan CC for just 205 runs, Ragama CC were in a spot of bother as they were 4 down for just 84 runs. Roshen Silva and Nishan Madhushka, who paired up for the 5th wicket, put on a massive 296-run partnership to see Ragama off the deep end and into comfortable grounds. Roshen Silva, who is eyeing a comeback into the SL side, put all the class and elegance he possessed on display through his 165, while young wicket-keeper batsman Nishan Madhushka showed a lot of character and grit in his 154 runs. Ragama were 417/6 at the end of day 2.

Brief Scores

Lankan Cricket Club 205 (77)

Primosh Perera 57, Keshan Wijerathne 51, Sahan Nanayakkare 20*, Shashika Dulshan 5/26, Amila Aponso 2/42

Ragama Cricket Club 417/6 (99)

Roshen Silva 165, Nishan Madushka 154, Supeshala Jayathilake 22*, Lahiru Thirimanne 21, Udith Madushan 3/103


Sri Lanka Army Sports Club vs. Moors Sports Club

On the back of valuable fifties from Dinesh Chandimal, Lakshan Edirisinghe, Ashan Randika and Dushan Vimukthi, Army were able to make 374 for their first inning. Yasodha Mendis’ brilliant figures of 7/18 enabled the Army men to restrict Moors SC for just 128 runs in their first inning and were asked to follow on. Skipper Pabasara Waduge (58*), who lead the Moors’ batting from the front, was able to put on a much better batting performance in their second inning as they were 107/2 at stumps on day 2.

Read more : A handful of Tons, A double ton & wins for Panadura & Bloomfield

Brief Scores

Army Cricket Club 374 (96.3)

Lakshan Edirisinghe 86, Dinesh Chandimal 84, Ashan Randika 77, Dushan Vimukthi 61, Yashodha Mendis 27, Dhanushka Ranasinghe 8/76

Moors Sports Club 128 (43.1)

Nipun Karunanayake 31, Adeesha Thilanchana 25, Charitha Kumarasinghe 20, Yasoda Mendis 7/18

& F/O 107/2 (26)

Pabasara Waduge 58*


Burgher Recreation Club vs. Negombo Cricket Club

An evenly poised match between Burgher Recreation Club and Negombo Cricket Club saw BRC post a competitive 328 for the first inning against the 279, which was then posted by Negombo CC in reply. Skipper Shanuka Dulaj (68) impressed with the bat for BRC, while Angelo Jayasinghe struck 109 runs for Negombo. It was Upul Indrasiri who starred with the ball for Negombo as the left-arm spinner claimed 7 wickets in the first inning, while Lisula Lakshan picked 4 wickets for BRC. BRC were 35/1 in their second inning when stumps were drawn for day 2.

Brief Scores

Burgher Recreation Club 328 (105.4) 

Shanuka Withanawasam 68, Lasith Lakshan 59, Lisula Lakshan 49, Deshan Dias 36, Umeshka Morais 33, Hashan Sandeepa 28*, Upul Indrasiri 7/120 

& 35/1 (13.3) 

Lasith Lakshan 24*

Negombo Cricket Club 279 (56.1) 

Angelo Jayasinghe 109, Madawa Warnapura 55, Saad Nasim 51, Lasith Lakshan 4/21, Mohamed Shiraz 3/68, Kevin Koththigoda 2/25


Nondescripts Cricket Club vs. Badureliya Sports Club

Prolific young talent Pathum Nissanka’s flawless century was cut short as the match had to be stopped halfway since the umpires decided that the surface was quite dangerous for play due to uneven bounce. NCC were 187/2 with Pathum Nissanka and Upul Tharanga (44*) stitching a calm 90-run stand for the 3rd wicket.

Read more : Ragama CC complete come-from-behind win

Brief Scores

Nondescripts Cricket Club 187/2 (55.2)

Pathum Nissanka 101*, Upul Tharanga 44*, Hasitha Boyagoda 33, Thilakarathne Sampath 2/59

Badureliya Cricket Club


Saracens Sports Club vs. Chilaw Marians Cricket Club

After a modest batting performance saw Saracens SC bowled out for just 176 runs for their first inning, the Chilaw Marians put on a much better batting performance to post 281 runs for their first inning. Sri Lanka National Cap Oshada Fernando top-scored with 69 runs for Chilaw. Nimesh Vimukthi picked up 4 wickets for Chilaw, while left-arm seamer Mohomad Dilshad claimed 4 wickets for Saracens. Batting their second inning, Saracens were 35 for 1 at stumps at day 2.

Brief Scores

Saracens Sports Club 176 (83) 

Saliya Jeewantha 35, Pathum Madusanka 29, Chamikara Edirisinghe 24*, Nimesh Vimukthi 4/39, Chathuranga Kumara 3/25 & 31/2 (9)

Chilaw Marians Cricket Club 281 (70.5) 

Oshada Fernando 69, Sumit Ghadigaonkar 60, Kasun Vidura 49*, Lasith Croospulle 45, Pulina Tharanga 25, Mohomed Dilshad 4/63, Chamikara Edirisinghe 3/105


Colts Cricket Club vs. Colombo Cricket Club

Yet another even battle between bat and ball was played out at CCC grounds where the home team Colombo Cricket Club took on Colts Cricket Club. After former youth Sri Lanka Cap Santhush Gunathilaka (67) helped Colts CC to make 205 in their first inning, Colombo CC bettered their performance by piling up 244 runs for the first inning. Wicket-keeper batsman Minod Bhanuka missed out on a century by the slightest of margins as he was dismissed for 99 runs. Another former Youth National Cap, Sonal Dinusha, claimed 6 wickets with the ball for Colombo Cricket Club, while veteran spinner Dilruwan Perera claimed 5 wickets to his name.

Vishad Randika, who was caught in the 40s in the first inning, completed his fifty in the second inning when he made 73 runs while Sonal Dinusha picked a double five-fer in both innings. Colts CC were 212 for 8 in their second inning at stumps day 2.

Brief Scores

Colombo Colts Cricket Club 205 (53.2) 

Santhush Gunathilake 67, Vishad De Silva 46, Dhananjaya Lakshan 29, Sonal Dinusha 6/55, Vishwa Fernando 3/40 

& 212/8 (58) 

Vishad Randika 73, Santhush Gunathilake 44, Dhananjaya Lakshan 26*, Heshan Dhanushka 25, Sonal Dinusha 5/98, Vishwa Fernando 3/25

Colombo Cricket Club 244 (59.2) 

Minod Bhanuka 99, Lasith Abeyratne 38, Sonal Dinusha 26, Dilruwan Perera 5/95, Prabath Jayasuriya 4/76