Oshada Fernando: 8 matches, 999 runs, 6 centuries – not done yet

Sri Lanka Cricket Premier League - Super Eights Tier A


Four matches of the Sri Lanka Cricket Premier League – Super Eights Tier A continued around the island today (26).

Rangana Herath makes grand return

Four matches of the Sri Lanka Cricket Premier League – Tier A Super Eights…

Chilaw Marians vs Colts

Two double centuries for Priyamal Perera in the previous games were followed by another century this morning, but it was Oshada Fernando who stole the limelight later in the day to put Chilaw Marians in a commanding position against Colts CC.

Colts folded up for 308 in reply to Marians’ 560 all-out in their first innings with Priyamal stroking a breathtaking 107 to take his season’s tally to 805 runs to sit third on the highest run-scorer’s list.

Photo Album – Chilaw Marians Cricket Team Preview 2018/19

The man on the top of that list then came out and stroked his second century of the match to take his season’s tally to 999 runs, ahead of Kaushal Silva who lies in the 2nd position.

It was a breathtaking century from the former Sebastianite – his 6th this season – as he clobbered 7 sixes and 5 fours on his way to an unbeaten 112* off 101 balls.

The Marians who opted not to enforce the follow-on, ended day three with an overall lead of 485 runs with one day remaining in the match.

Chilaw Marians Cricket Club 560 (133) Harsha Cooray 162*, Oshada Fernando 109, Thikshila de Silva 79, Yashodha Lanka 75, Risith Upamal 33, Pulina Tharanga 23, Sangeeth Cooray 4/105  & 233/2 (46) Oshada Fernando 112*, Yashoda Lanka 55, Risith Upamal 36*


Colombo Colts Cricket Club 308 (88.2) Priyamal Perera 107, Hashan Dumindu 68, Dananjaya Lakshan 32, Harsha Rajapaksha 31, Sagar Paresh 5/84, Chaturanga Kumara 2/56

NCC vs Saracens

Pramod Maduwantha’s second century of the season – following his double hundred a few days back – put Saracens in command in their encounter against NCC.

Saracens replied with 457 to NCC’s 253, securing a vital 204 run lead while Lasith Embuldeniya’s classical left arm spin dismissed six Saracens batsmen.

Ashen Bandara, Gamindu Kanishka and Nipun Karunanayake also made half centuries for Saracens.

NCC made a bold reply of 165/2 in just 38 overs, with Lahiru Udara remaining unbeaten on a fluent 93* at close on day 2.

Nondescripts Cricket Club 253 (87.3) Mahela Udawatte 101, Lahiru Udara 47, Saranga Rajaguru 38, Malinga Amarasinghe 20, Chamikara Edirisinghe 4/82, Mohomed Dilshad 2/25  & 165/2 (38) Lahiru Udara 93*, Hasitha Boyagoda 34


Saracens Sports Club 457 (142.3) Pramod Maduwantha 116, Ashen Bandara 78, Gamindu Kanishka 81, Nipun Karunanayake 55, Andy Solomons 45, Dilesh Gunaratne 2/83, Lasith Embuldeniya 6/96

Tamil Union vs CCC

The left arm bowler to pick up the highest number of international Test wickets went about his business today to secure a crucial 81 run first innings lead for his club Tamil Union.

Rangana Herath returned top class figures of 5/71 while Thilanga Udeeshana and Sachithra Serasinghe also chipped in with two wickets apiece.

Ramith Rambukwella, promoted to open the batting in the second innings, blasted his way to 63, as Tamil Union ended day 3 on 177/6, 258 runs ahead of CCC.

Tamil Union Cricket And Athletic Club 405 (127.5) Tharanga Paranavitana 215*, Damitha Silva 72, Sachithra Serasinghe 21, Lahiru Madushanka 3/54, Ashan Priyanjan 2/49, Wanindu Hasaranga 2/52  & 177/6 (50) Ramith Rambukwella 63, Yohan Mendis 34*,Lahiru Gamage 2/36, Lahiru Madushanka 2/38


Colombo Cricket Club 324 (89.2) Wanindu Hasaranga 106, Madawa Warnapura 54, Malindu Maduranga 65 Rangana Herath 5/71, Thilanga Udeshana 2/59, Sachithra Serasinghe 2/43

SSC vs Army

Tharindu Ratnayake’s return to form with the ball put SSC in with a chance of an outright win against Army SC.

Ratnayake went on to capture five wickets as Army were bowled out for 319 before they were asked to follow-on. Dhammika Prasad was also impressive for SSC as he bowled his heart out to capture three wickets as SSC secured a 263 run first innings lead.

The Soldiers however made a stubborn reply as they raced to 144/2 at close with Lakshitha Madushan stroking an elegant unbeaten 80*.

Sinhalese Sports Club 582/9d (141.5) Kaushal Silva 273, Kavindu Kulasekara 94, Sandun Weerakkody 52,, Sachithra Senanayake 42, Krishan Arachchige 23, Dushan Vimukthi 4/146


Army Cricket Club 319 (86.5) Dushan Vimukthi 133, Ashan Randika 35, Lakshan Edirisinghe 30, Tharindu Rathnayake 5/97, Dammika Prasad 3/72  & F/O 144/2 (41) Lakshitha Madushan 80*