Nipun Dhananjaya and Mahesh Theekshana star on opening day


Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) U19 Provincial Limited Overs Tournament 2018 commenced today with two matches being played at Colombo and Katunayaka.     

Western Province North vs Northern Province

Group A fixture between Northern Province and Western Province North was worked off today at Thurstan College ground to a thrilling finish. Northern Province won the toss and opted to bat first but made only 122 runs all-out in 47.3 overs.

Left arm spinner Pasindu Ushetti, a product of Maris Stella College was the star with the ball picking up 3 wickets for just 12 runs for Western Province North. In addition, Praveen Nimesh and Mahesh Theekshana took 2 wickets each for Western Province North.

Even though, Western Province North had a low score to chase down, they also struggled in their chase of 123 runs as the match ended in a nail-biting finish. They lost 9 wickets and consumed 34.4 overs to complete the victory. Mahesh Theekshana who starred with the ball earlier in the day stroked a valuable 30 runs with the bat to guide Western Province North to victory.

Brief scores

Northern Province 122 (47.3) S Banujan 23, Pasindu Ushetti 3/12, Praveen Nimesh 2/11, Mahesh Theekshana 2/26

Western Province North 123/9 (34.4) Mahesh Theekshana 30, T Dinoshan 2/19, S Mathushan 2/36

Result – Western Province North won by 1 wicket

 Central Province vs North Western Province

Group A fixture between Central Province and North Western Province was worked off today at FTZ ground in Katunayaka. Central Province skipper won the toss and decided to bat first but their decision backfired as they were bundled out for 150 runs in 42.5 overs. Pubudu Bandara (35) and Abishek Anandakumar (31) top scored for Central Province.

In the bowling department, Sithum Akalanka, a product of St. Sebastian’s College, Katuneriya was the pick of the bowlers with 4 wickets for 37 runs while Nipun Dhananjaya and Vidath Batepola grabbed 2 scalps each for North Western Province.

Lads from North Western Province chased down the target of 151 runs in 35.1 overs and registered a comprehensive 7-wicket victory. Left hander Nipun Dhananjaya’s half-ton and Supun Sumanarathne’s 42-run knock guided North Western Province to this easy win over Central Province. Muditha Premadasa (25) and Yohan Peiris (24) also chipped in with valuable contributions for North Western Province.

Brief scores

Central Province 150 (42.5) Pubudu Bandara 35, Abishek Anandakumar 31, Sithum Akalanka 4/37, Nipun Dhananjaya 2/22, Vidath Batepola 2/35

North Western Province 151/3 (35.1) Nipun Dhananjaya 51*, Supun Sumanarathne 42, Muditha Premadasa 25, Yohan Peiris 24*

Result – North Western Province won by 7 wickets