Buwaneka and Thilini smash their way to Gold

NCPBA All Island Open Badminton Championship 2019


Two of Sri Lankan’s leading badminton players Buwaneka Goonethilleka and Thilini Hendahewa take major honors winning the Men’s and Women’s open titles at the NCPBA All Island Open Badminton Championships 2019 at the Mike Cooke Indoor Stadium in Anuradhapura.

Sudirman Cup contender Buwaneka Goonethillake started his journey to the final with three straight set victories over Kasun Amarasena, Thulith Thewmika and Roshan Kumara. He overcame a tough three-setter against Madhuka Dulanjana in the semi final, 19-21, 21-7, 21-14 to book his spot in the final.

Read More: ATG sponsors National Badminton player’s Tour of Australia

Joining him in the final was Ranthushka Karunathilake, who played his quarter final game against Chamath Kavinda and semifinal against Lochana Oshan to book his final with Buwaneka Goonethillake.

In the thrilling final, Buwaneka overcame Ranthushka Karunathilake in straight sets 21-17, 21-11 to win the NCPBA Men’s open title.

In the Women’s category, the reigning national champ Thilini Hendahewa went hunting for her NCPBA open championship title by defeating fellow team mate and former national champ Achini Rathnasiri in straight sets 21-15, 21-18.

Read More: All Island School Games given green light after Easter Sunday Attack

2018 Commonwealth top performers, Buwaneka Goonethilake and Sachin Dias took home the Men’s doubles title defeating Hasitha Chanaka and R S Kasun in a comfortable straight set victory. Final scores read 21, 16 and 21-16.

Defenders open badminton winners Achini Ratnasiri and Upuli Weerasinghe won the Women’s doubles title in a thrilling two-set battle with a score line of 21-12, 21-12 against Dilmi Dias and Kavindika Binari in the Women’s double final.

Sachin dias and Thilini Hendahewa triumphed with a score of 21-8, 21-15 to be crowned the NCPBA open mixed doubles champions for the year against Madhuka and Dilmi.

 >>Click here for more Badminton News<<