Mustafizur named in Bangladesh squad for tri-series

Mustafizur Rahman
Among the notable absentees for the tri-series are Taskin Ahmed and Soumya Sarkar © Getty

Injury-prone pacer Mustafizur Rahman has been named in Bangladesh’s 16-member squad for the upcoming ODI tri-series featuring Sri Lanka and Zimbabwe. Opening batsman Anamul Haque and wicketkeeper-batsman Mohammad Mithun also return to the squad following a lengthy absence from the team.

The 25-year-old Anamul, who last played an ODI in March 2015, has been recalled following his good form in Bangladesh’s domestic cricket in 2017. He scored 1077 first-class runs, including a double century, and 596 runs in List A cricket, along with 206 runs in the Bangladesh Premier League.

The 27-year-old Mithun’s last international appearance was during the World T20 game against New Zealand in March 2016 while his last ODI appearance was way back in June 2014 in the series against India. He was, however, rewarded with a berth for his good showing in the BPL where he finished as the fifth-highest run-getter with 329 runs.

Among the notable absentees for the tri-series are Taskin Ahmed and Soumya Sarkar, while Liton Das, Mominul Haque and Shafiul Islam also did not find favour with the Bangladesh selectors.

The tri-series gets underway on January 17, with Bangladesh taking on Zimbabwe in the opening game. The three teams will take on each other two times before of the final on January 27. All matches will be held at the Shere Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur, Dhaka.

Bangladesh squad: Mashrafe Mortaza (c), Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Tamim Iqbal, Mahmudullah, Imrul Kayes, Anamul Haq, Nasir Hossain, Sabbir Rahman, Mohammad Mithun Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Rubel Hossain, Abul Hasan, Mehidy Hasan, Mohammad Saifudidin, Sanjamul Islam