Match Officials for ICC World Test Championship Final announced

ICC World Test Championship


The International Cricket Council has announced the match officials for the ICC World Test Championship (WTC) Final to be played between Australia and India at The Oval from 7-11 June.

Chris Gaffaney of New Zealand and Richard Illingworth of England have been named as the on-field umpires for the Ultimate Test, which has 12 June earmarked as a reserve day to make up for any lost time during the scheduled five days of play.

Gaffaney, 48, will be standing in his 49th Test match while it will be the 64th Test for 59-year-old Illingworth, who also stood in the first WTC Final two years ago that New Zealand won with an eight-wicket victory over India in Southampton.

Another England umpire, Richard Kettleborough, will also be officiating in a second successive WTC Final, once again appointed as the TV umpire. Kumar Dharmasena of Sri Lanka will be the fourth umpire.

Richie Richardson of the West Indies will be the match referee.