Manoj Sarathchandra finds light at the end of the tunnel for Tamil Union

SLC Premier League Tier A


Five matches of the SLC Premier League Tier A Tournament continued today (29th February), while the match between Colts and BRC concluded with a win for the former. 

Colts vs BRC 

Colts wrapped up their game against BRC within two days, as they cruised to a six wicket win.

Their spinners led the way with Prabath Jayasuriya picking up six wickets in the second innings, while Nalin Priyadarshana also captured seven wickets in the match. 

BRC managed only 214 in their second innings with Bhanuka Rajapaksa making 87, but it only left Colts to get 17 runs for an outright win. 

Brief Scores

Colombo Colts Cricket Club – 366 (86.1) Priyamal Perera 99, Sadeera Samarawickrama 66, Sangeeth Cooray 62, Vishad Randika 60, Nisala Tharaka 24*, Duvindu Tillakaratne 8/147  & 17/4 (4) Duvindu Tillakaratne 2/06, Kevin Koththigoda 2/11 
Burgher Recreation Club – 168 (42.1) Tharindu Kaushal 38, Raminda Wijesooriya 32, Bhanuka Rajapaksa 25, Nalin Priyadarshana 4/67, Dhananjaya Lakshan 2/19  & F/O 214 (45.3)Bhanuka Rajapaksa 87, Raminda Wijesooriya 26, Hashen Ramanayake 20, Prabath Jayasuriya 6/65, Nalin Priyadarshana 3/71

Photos: BRC Vs Colts CC | SLC Major League Tier ‘A’ Tournament 2019/20

Ragama CC vs Chilaw Marians 

Ragama CC ended the day in a strong position, but had already conceded first innings points against Chilaw Marians by then. 

Ragama CC made 233/1 in their second innings with Saminda Fernando, Udara Jaysundara and Lahiru Thirimanne all making half-centuries. 

Earlier in the day, the Chilaw Marians were bowled out for 268, with Lasith Croospulle being severely unfortunate as he missed out a century when he was dismissed for 99. 

Brief Scores

Ragama Cricket Club – 204 (62.2) Lahiru Thirimanne 97, Roshen Silva 34, Amila Aponso 21*, Nimesh Vimukthi 6/62, Asitha Fernando 3/58  & 233/1 (52) Saminda Fernando 90*, Udara Jayasundera 67*, Lahiru Thirimanne 66 
Chilaw Marians Cricket Club – 268 (60.5) Lasith Croospulle 99, Pulina Tharanga 44, Thikshila De Silva 29, Rumesh Buddika 25, Yash Kothari 24, Oshada Fernando 22, Amila Aponso 5/98, Nishan Peiris 4/89

CCC vs Moors SC 

CCC ended the day in a commanding position thanks to Pawan Ratnayake’s marathon knock of an unbeaten 164* runs. 

His knock enabled CCC to post 547 runs in their first innings. 

Moors in reply ended the day on 191/3, with Charitha Kumarasinghe and Pabasara Waduge making half-centuries. 

Brief Scores

Colombo Cricket Club – 547 (133.4) Pawan Rathnayake 164*, Lahiru Madushanka 89, Ron Chandraguptha 54, Lahiru Gamage 49, Malindu Maduranga 45, Ashan Priyanjan 41, Vishwa Fernando 41, Chathura Randunu 3/188, Sachithra Serasinghe 2/62, Kavishka Anjula 2/83 
Moors Sports Club – 191/3 (44) Charitha Kumarasinghe 55, Pabasara Waduge 53, Ramesh Mendis 43*, Vish Baduraliya wa Fernando 2/25

Badureliya SC vs Saracens 

Saracens ended the day in a strong position as they replied with 244/3, after Badureliya posted 365 in their first innings. 

Sithara Gimhan too scored for Saracens with 73, while Gamindu Kanishka and Navindu Nirmal made half-centuries. 

Brief Scores

Badureliya Cricket Club – 365 (94.4) Shahid Yousuf 142, Lahiru Samarakoon 75, T M Sampath 49, Salinda Ushan 31, Gamindu Kanishka 4/54, Chamikara Edirisinghe 4/89, Saliya Saman 2/59 
Saracens Sports Club – 244/3 (81) Sithara Gimhan 73, Gamindu Kanishka 56*, Navindu Nirmal 56, Promod Maduwantha 42*, Buddika Sanjeewa 2/63

NCC vs Tamil Union

Tamil Union finally had something to smile about as they secured first innings points against NCC. 

Manoj Sarathchandra’s epic knock was the difference between the sides, and he went on to remain unbeaten on 133*.

Tamil Union lost all their games played thus far by first innings or outright ahead of this game against NCC. 

Brief Scores

Nondescripts Cricket Club – 339 (69.2) Pathum Nissanka 94, Sahan Arachchige 70, Upul Tharanga 42, Chathuranga De Silva 37, Mahela Udawatte 35, Lasith Embuldeniya 26, Pramod Liyanagamage 4/67, Thilanga Udeshana 3/77, Maduka Liyanapathiranage 2/65 
Tamil Union Cricket And Athletic Club – 391/8 (108) Manoj Sarathchandra 133*, Tharanga Paranavithana 68, Yohan Mendis 60, Maduka Liyanapathiranage 21, Devind Pathmanathan 20, Chamika Karunaratne 2/65, Lasith Embuldeniya 2/85, Chathuranga De Silva 2/118

SSC vs Army SC 

SSC sank further as Army SC took control in their game, with Himasha Liyanage leading the way. 

Liyanage’s unbeaten 90* ensured that Army replied With 274 after SSC made 229 on the opening day. 

Sachithra Senanayake captured five wickets for SSC  but it wasn’t enough to restrict the soldiers below 229.  

Brief Scores

Sinhalese Sports Club – 229 (71) Sammu Ashan 77*, Krishan Sanjula 37, Kavindu Kulasekara 27, Sachithra Senanayake 27, Janith Silva 4/53, Dushan Vimukthi 2/15, Heshan Hettiarachchi 2/53, Malka Madusanka 2/68  & 88/3 (24)Sandun Weerakkody 34, Nuwanidu Fernando 31, Dushan Vimukthi 2/22 
Army Cricket Club – 274 (80) Himasha Liyanage 90*, Pathum Dilshan 43, Lakshan Edirisinghe 32, Heshan Hettiarachchi 26, Janith Silva 23, Asela Gunaratne 21, Sachithra Senanayake 5/56, Sandun Weerakkody 2/22, Dhammika Prasad 2/40