Maliyadeva prevail over St. Anne’s to clinch the 27th Limited Overs Encounter

27th Limited Overs Encounter – Maliyadeva College vs St. Anne’s College

27th Limited Overs Encounter – Maliyadeva College vs St. Anne’s College

Maliyadeva College registered a 22-run win (DLS Method) over St. Anne’s College to clinch the 27th Annual Limited Overs Encounter between the sides played today (7th April) at Welagedara.  

Maliyadeva College won the toss and chose to bat first. However, their opening pair, Thiwanka Dissanayaka and Pahasara Bandara, couldn’t get off to a good start, as their stay at the crease was reduced to just 20 runs. Despite losing wickets at regular intervals, Chandupa Abeysinghe and Dimantha Arosha managed to compile crucial half-centuries, propelling their side to a decent total of 232/9.

>>Rahula College miss out on a famous victory after brave declaration<<

Geethika de Silva and Jinajith Weeramuni impressed with the ball, picking up 2 wickets each for St. Anne’s College. In reply, St. Anne’s College had a terrible start, losing their opening pair within the first 4 overs. Shehan Kumara and Chamith Sasenjana then revived their innings, adding 60 runs for the 3rd wicket before the former was dismissed for 21 runs.

When the score reached 93/3, rain interrupted play, and the target was revised to 217 from 45 overs. Though the game resumed after the break, rain interruptions continued to hamper the proceedings. Eventually, the organizers had to reduce the game to a 35-over contest. St. Anne’s College were finally set a target of 162 runs.

>>St. Peter’s defeat St. Joseph’s to regain Rev. Fr Peter Pillai Memorial Shield<<

Sasenjana fought with a fighting half-century, but he couldn’t put St. Anne’s College over the line as they fell 22 runs short of the target. Gayana Weerasinghe and Dimath Abeysinghe starred with the ball for victorious Maliyadeva College, sharing 7 wickets between them.