LPL terminates one more franchise


Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) has terminated the contract of one more franchise of the Lanka Premier League (LPL). The name of the team has not been revealed but Cricbuzz believes it is the Jaffna franchise, owned by a group of investors of Indian and Sri Lankan origins from different parts of the world, including from Australia, Canada, France, United Kingdom, and the USA.

Read: New Icon Players as SLC release LPL Player Draft details

The Jaffna franchise becomes the third team to have faced termination from the league following joint action by the SLC and league rights holders – Innovative Production Group FZE (IPG) of Dubai – against Colombo Kings and Dambulla Viiking late last month. All three teams have been dumped out of the league for what is being termed as reasons of non-compliance.

Sources have told this website that the organisers are ready with new owners whose KYCs are with the International Cricket Council (ICC). About eight new parties are believed to have expressed interest to be part of the league, and the right parties will be on-boarded once the ICC clearance has been obtained, said a source. A formal announcement on the latest termination from the SLC is expected soon.

Read: Hambantota set to host 2nd edition of LPL

The second edition of the LPL is scheduled to be held at the Mahinda Rajapaksa International Stadium in Hambantota from July 30 to August 22. The LPL has five teams — Galle Gladiators, Jaffna Stallions, Kandy Tuskers, Colombo Kings and Dambulla Viiking. The Jaffna Stallions were previously led by Thisara Perera.