De Silva & Gayathri win big at the provincial Badminton Championship

Uva provincial open All Island Badminton championship


Uva Provincial Open All Island Badminton Championship conducted by the Uva Provincial Badminton Association under the auspices of Sri Lanka Badminton was worked off successfully last Sunday [20th November] at St. Thomas’ College Indoor Sports Complex in Bandarawela.

Lochana De Silva and Nadeesha Gayathri bagged wins in three categories. Starting off from the Women’s Open Final, Gayathri secured the championship title beating Anjalee Jayasundara in the final (21-12, 21-12).

Gayathri then teamed up with Kavindika De Silva and defeated Chamya Nirmali and Kethaki Wedamulla in Women’s Doubles Final with a scoreline of 21- 12, 21- 6.

She then teamed up with Lochana De Silva who won the Men’s Singles title to play against Hansa De Silva and Chamya Nirmali in the Mixed Doubles Final and clinched victory in that category.

After a 3-match encounter with Jason Homer, Lochana De Silva clinched victory in the Men’s Singles Final. Scoreline: 21-18, 18- 21, 21- 12.

He also won the Men’s Doubles title, teaming up with Rashintha De Silva, beating Dinuru Rashmitha and Lahiru Weerasinghe 21-16, 22- 20 before winning mixed doubles.

Sri Lanka Badminton President Rohan De Silva, Headmaster of St. Thomas’ College Bandarawela Rev. Fr. Christopher Balraj and the chief organizer of the event Thilak Jayasiri graced the occasion as the special invitees at the award ceremony.