Lankan Cricket Club punish Kalutara Town Club

Major League Tier B tournament


Four matches in the SLC Premier League Tournament 2018/19 – Tier B segment were conducted today in Colombo and its suburbs. 

Lankan Cricket Club vs Kalutara Town Club

After bowling out the Lankans for 313 yesterday, Kalutara town club commenced their innings on 19 for 1 this morning. Dulanjana Mendis together with Ayantha De Silva were ruthless with the ball, as the pair wrapped up the Kalutara innings in 53 overs.

Chasing a target of 38 the Lankans reached the target in the 10th over thanks to a brisk innings by Sanjula Abewickrema who was not out on 27.

Brief scores

Kalutara Town Club 183 (71.2) : Nipuna Gamage 68, Shifran Muthalif 6/40, Ayantha de Silva 2/44 & 168 (52.4) Nilushan Nonis 37, Nipuna Gamage 33, Ravindu Kodituwakku 27, Eranga Rathnayaka 27, Dulanjana Mendis 4/52, Ayantha de Silva 4/41


Lankan Cricket Club 313 (97.1) : Chanaka Ruwansiri 91, Geeth Kumara 73, Rishen Rodrigo 47, Maduranga Soysa 26, Sanjula Abeywickrama 25, Pasindu Madushan 6/102, Eranga Rathnayake 2/62 & 39/1 (10) Sanjula Abeywickrama 27*


Read more: Navod Paranavithana guides Mahinda College to victory

Kurunegala Sports Club vs Panadura Sports Club

Commencing day two proceedings at 36 for no loss, Panadura sports club were impressive with the bat as former Thurstanite Thimira Jayasinghe flaunted his bat to all corners of the ground with an impressive 143 not out.

Jayasinghe was well supported by Asantha Basnayake who was dismissed for a valiant 82 and all-rounder Imranullah Aslam also contributed a notable 56 runs.

Vinodh Perera was unbeaten with Jayasinghe on 58 for Panadura, at the end of the days play. In the bowling department, Rasanjana Jayarathna picked up 3 wickets for 104 runs for Kurunegala Youth.

Brief scores

Kurunegala Youth Cricket Club 407 (81.4) : Dinushka Malan 107*, Shalika Karunanayake 79, Rasanjana Jayarathna 70, Dhanushka Dharmasiri 55, Thusith De Soyza 25, Sameera Sandamal 25, Lahiru Jayarathne 20, Navin Kavikara 4/121, Imranullah Aslam 2/68


Panadura Sports Club 418/6 (96) : Thimira Jayasinghe 143*, Asantha Basnayake 82, Vinodh Perera 58*, Imranullah Aslam 56, Vishwa Chathuranga 38, Mishane Silva 30, Rasanjana Jayarathna 3/104


Bloomfield Cricket Club vs Navy Sports Club

An interesting battle between Bloomfield C & AC and Navy sports club ended up in a tame draw as the seamen were able to add only ten runs to their overnight score of 239 for the loss of nine wickets.

Batting second Bloomfield was very shaky with the bat, but thanks to an impressive 50 runs by ex-Thomian skipper Madushan Ravichandrakumar, Bloomfield declared on 159 for the loss of 9 wickets.

The Saints’ duo of Dushan Hemantha and Revan Kelly looked in prime form for Navy with some innovative stroke play with contributions of 61 and 43 respectively, before play was called off at 175 for the loss of 7 wickets. Ravinchandrakumar continued his impressive all-round skills picking up 3 wickets for Bloomfield.

Brief scores

Bloomfield Cricket and Athletic Club 371 (102) : Sanoj Perera 99, Asel Sigera 84, Sachin Jayawardane 66, Madushan Ravichandrakumar 46, Kavika Dilshan 6/109, Dushan Hemantha 3/107 & 159/9d (43.2) Madushan Ravichandrakumar 50*, Sanoj Dharshitha 34, Nipun Haggalla 23, Kavika Dilshan 3/51, Dushan Hemantha 4/60, Malinga de Silva 2/22


Navy Sports Club 249 (81.3) : Dilan Chandima 73, Shewon Fonseka 59, Supun Leelarathne 25, Kavika Dilshan 20, Madushan Ravichandrakumar 5/59, Aravinda Premarathne 3/53 & 175/7 (42) Dushan Hemantha 61, Revan Kelly 43, Madushan Ravichandrakumar 3/42, Waruna Mayantha 24, Shaluka Silva 4/41


Galle Cricket Club vs Air Force Sports Club

The battle in Dombagoda ended in a quite nominal fashion, with the Airmen being bowled out for 262 thanks to some courageous efforts by Gayan Sirisoma and Rajitha Priyan who picked up 3 wickets each.

Valuable contributions were made by Sampath Perera, who was not out on 55, whilst Kaushalya Gajasinghe scored a supportive 47.  Galle Cricket Club ended the day’s play with 10 runs for the loss of one wicket.

Brief scores

Galle Cricket Club 253 (78.1) : Lakshan Rodrigo 48, Kevin Koththigoda 48, Harsha Vithana 45, Nishal Randika 43, Rajeewa Weerasinghe 27, Ravindu Sanjana 3/18, Sampath Perera 3/49, Umega Chathuranga 2/50 & 10/1 (5)


Air Force Sports Club 262 (85.1) : Sampath Perera 55*, Kaushalya Gajasinghe 47, Suminda Lakshan 31, Dilip Tharaka 24, Rosco Thattil 27, Gayan Sirisoma 3/89, Rajitha Priyan 3/52, Akalanka Ganegama 2/63