Beginning of something exciting – Lanka Football Cup 2024

Lanka Football Cup 2024


Lanka Sports Group (LSG) in an attempt to develop sports in Sri Lanka initiates, Lanka Football Cup 2024 as their inaugural venture.

This was communicated by Saif Yusoof, President of Colombo FC, at the media briefing and official draw held on 26th April at the City Football Complex.  

“We formed LSG sometime back with the aim of developing sports in the country. Not just the big sports but also the other sports. We are taking the first step with Football today. We haven’t had local football for a couple of years now but now we are turning a corner and hopefully we’ll see consistent football in the country,” Yusoof added.

Lanka Football Cup consists of 8 teams – Central FC, Colombo FC, Eastern FC, Galle FC, Jaffna FC, Kalutara FC, Kandy FC & Negombo FC. In its initial year the tournament will be played on a knockout basis with 4 quarter finals, 2 semi-finals and a final. 

“We are hoping to build this next year into a home and away league tournament but this time it’ll only be a knockout given the time frame with Football Federation of Sri Lanka (FFSL) also planning on starting their Super League soon,” he further added.

More News

The 8 teams will be coached by renowned coaches and former players. Hassan Roomy (Colombo), Ramees Hasan (Kalutara), EB Channa (Galle), Ratnam Jusmin (Jaffna), Rawme Mohideen (Central), Mohamed Mohideen (Eastern), Ashfak Ahmed (Kandy), Chathura Gunarathna (Negombo).

Apart from the trophies and individual awards, the winners will receive 1million rupees while the runners-up will get LKR 500,000.

>> Click Here for More Football <<