CH KO’d at Nittawela

Dialog Rugby League 2019/20


Kandy SC managed to record yet another convincing victory in the Dialog Rugby League 2019/20 earlier in the evening today (2nd February). The hill country powerhouse defeated the Gymkhana club, 45 points to 15, as rugby returned to the hill capital after some time.

Samuel Maduwantha of CH & FC kick-started the proceedings as the hosts wasted no time in opening their account with Tharinda Ratwatte slotting in a straight forward penalty in the 7th minute of the day’s play. (Kandy 03 – 00 CH)

>>Visit the #DRL 2019/20 Hub<<

CH had an opportunity to level the scores in the 11th minute, however, Samuel Maduwantha failed to bisect the posts in a penalty offered off a difficult angle. Nine minutes later, Jason Dissanayake had a great opportunity to expand the Kandy lead but failed as he knocked the ball after carrying it inches close to the whitewash through a Kandy rolling maul. Kandy finally managed to add to their 3 points in the 28th minute, as Buddhima Piyarathne managed to make an 80m dash and go under the post. Tharinda bisected the posts for the extra two. (Kandy 10 – 00 CH)

Kandy managed to score their second try of the game on the brink of half time as Tharindu Chathuranga moved over the try-line after a few good phases of play from both the Kandy forwards and the Kandy backs. Tharinda made no mistake with the extras as Kandy went into lemons with a healthy 17 point advantage.

CH & FC would be disappointed with the fact that they could not get off the mark in the first half, but have only themselves to blame, as they failed to capitalize on a few try-scoring opportunities due to some sloppy pieces of play.

Half Time – Kandy SC 17 (2T, 2C, 1P) – 0 CH & FC

Tharinda Ratwatte kick-started the second half for the hosts, and Kandy did not waste time in making a statement as Buwaneka Udangamuwa went over the try-line with Tharinda Rawatte completing the seven pointer. (Kandy 24 – 0 CH)

It took 47 minutes for the visitors to get their first points on the board as Samuel Maduwantha bisected the posts of a straight forward penalty. CH seemed to have gained some momentum from that breakthrough as Prasad Madushanka went over the whitewash for an unconverted try in the 50th minute. (Kandy 24 – 08 CH)

It appeared as if Kandy was suddenly pushed on the back foot, and the yellow card issued by referee Dilum Deeshana to Ashan Darling for a high tackle on Samuel Maduwantha in the 52nd minute which added to the worries of the hosts.

CH continued to catch up on the Kandy lead as Nishon Perera went over the whitewash in the 64th minute. Samuel Maduwantha was spot on with the conversion this time around though it was off a very tight angle. (Kandy 24 – 15 CH)

Kandy finally managed to break the shackles in the 68th minute as Ali Mohomad touched down for the hosts and Tharinda made no mistake with the conversion. (Kandy 31 – 15 CH)

The two teams began playing some intensive rugby, with things getting a bit physical referee Dilum was forced to send Matheesha Sarathchandra to the sin bin in the 70th minute.

Kandy was quick to capitalize on the one-man advantage as Mohomad Ali added 5 more points to the Kandy tally. Tharinda was yet again spot on with the conversion. (Kandy 38 – 15 CH)

In the 75th minute, CH faced yet another set back with a yellow card issued on Lankesh Perera. Sashika Jayawardane managed to score another try for the hosts in the dying minutes of the game as Tharinda Ratwatte bisected the posts off the far corner to end his fabulous day with the golden boots.

Full Time – Kandy SC 45 (6T, 6C, 1P) – 15 (2T, 1C, 1P) CH & FC

  • Dialog Viu Player of the Match – Tharindu Chathuranga (Kandy SC)
  • Match Referee – Dilum Deeshana


Kandy SC:        Tries from Buddhima Piyarathne(1), Tharindu Chathuranga(2), Buwaneka Udangamuwa(1),                                      Mohomad Ali(1), and Sashika Jayawardane(1)
                          Conversions (6) by Tharinda Ratwatte
                          Penalties (1) by Tharinda Ratwatte

CH & FC:           Tries from Prasad Madushanka(1), and Nishon Perera(1)
                          Conversions (1) by Samuel Maduwantha
                          Penalties (1) by Samuel Maduwantha

Cautions & Sendoffs:
Yellow Cards: Ashan Darling (Kandy SC)
                         Matheesha Sarathchandra and Lankesh Perera (CH & FC