Left-arm spinner Prabhath Jayasuriya picked up 5 for 19 as defending champions, Colts Cricket Club booked their place in the AIA Premier Limited Overs final beating Bloomfield C & AC by 5 wickets in the 1st semi-final worked out at R. Premadasa International Stadium on Wednesday.

Photo Album – Colts vs Bloomfield – 1st Semi-Final – Premier Limited Overs

Colts won the toss and elected to field first on a bright and sunny morning. The spin-heavy Colts bowling attack struck as early as the 4th over when opener Primosh Perera was dismissed LBW by Dilruwan Perera for no score.

Bloomfield lost their skipper Dilshan Munaweera in the next over as they were 12 for 2 after being 12 for no loss. Jayasuriya worked his magic in the 15th over when he dismissed Vice-captain Madawa Warnapura and Dilhan Cooray became his 2nd victim in the 17th over.

After being 44 for 4, Bloomfield recovered through Deshan Dias and Nipun Karunanayake but Akila Dhananjaya removed the latter for 29. Jayasuriya ran through the Bloomfield lower order rather cheaply as they were bowled out for just 133 in 42 overs. In-form wicket-keeper batsman Deshan top-scored with 41.

Chasing a paltry target of 134, Colts lost Sadeera Samarawickrama for 6 when left-arm spinner Upul Indrasiri struck him right in front of the stumps. Hashan Dumindu was caught behind by Deshan Dias off the bowling of Vishawa Fernando but Shehan Fernando and Angelo Jayasuriya gave much needed impetus into the Colts reply with responsible knocks of 37 and 30 respectively.

Vishwa and Upul came back to claim their 2nd wicket but young Priyamal Perera (22*) and experienced Dilruwan Perera (14*) guided them home quite convincingly in the 28th over.

Colts CC will meet the winner of second semi-final between SSC and NCC tomorrow (24th) in the grand final scheduled on 30th December at the same venue.

Bloomfield – 133 all out in 42 overs: Deshan Dias 41, Nipun Karunanayake 29, Dilhan Cooray 22, Prabhath Jayasuriya 5/19, Akila Dhananjaya 2/32, Ishan Jayaratne 2/29.

Colts – 137/5 in 27.5 overs: Shehan Fernando 37, Angelo Jayasinghe 30, Priyamal Perera 22*, Vishwa Fernando 2/58, Upul Indrasiri 2/33.