Isipathana beat all star Agoal at Under 20 Club 7’s


Isipathanians which was the representation of Isipathana College ended their thirst for silverware this season defeating A-Goal academy 26-10 in the first ever Under 20 Inter School Rugby Sevens that was worked off at the Race Course Complex last evening.



The tournament which was the first of its kind was intended to be a selection process for the national contingent for the Under 20 national grid as over 8 teams participated representing various teams widespread around the country.

The contender clash narrowed up to the two heavyweights in the segment as A-Goal Academy were matched up against the Isipathanian’s who were the Isipathana representation which kicked off at 5.40 p.m.  A-Goal academy being a match-up of the greats from the school season included the talents of Reeza Raffaideen of Kingswood, league winning skipper Banuka Gamage & Keshan Peiris from Royal College, Kevin Dixon, Nishon Perera, Ramesh Fernando & Harshana Peiris of St. Peters, Shamilka Kurubulapitiya the Josephian Full back, Viraj Weerasekera Dharmaraja captain.

Title-hungry Isipathanians led by skipper Omalka Gunaratna stepped onto the field with high intentions only to be sidelined by a A-Goal opener which was a knock on but referee let it down as Reeza Raffaideen scored the first on the further left. (5-0)

Isipathana’s double strike coming from the efforts of Chamod Fernando and Asitha Punchihewa broke the A-Goal momentum as Isipathana took a 7 point lead. (12-5)

A-Goal’s reply off Reeza Raffaideen which was unconverted to level up was downsized by Omalka as he broke through for another signature try of his and later Kushan Indunil’s  try wrapped up the game giving Isipathana their first title this year.

Final Score: Isipathanians 26 (4T 3C) to A-Goal 10 (2T)


Semi Finals

Isipathanian’s made it to the finals by winning against Kandurata FC in a close encounter. Kandurata’s former D.S. Fullback gave Isipathana the early scare scoring first and later Kandurata took the lead in the dying stages of the second half but a sprint by Asitha Punchihewa got Isipathana through to the finals

Final Score 21-17

A-Goal Academy had to face the K/O winning SC Maroons which was Science College’s representation. It was a bit of the led down by the boys from Mount Lavinia as they gave up after A-Goal prepped up their game. Science’s Supun Dilshan’s opening try was shadowed by the A-Goal tries that came off Reeza Raffaideen, Ramesh Fernando & Veeran Weerasekara.

Final Score 19-12


Plate Finals

Both losing teams from the Semi Finals faced each other in the Plate Final and Science College were once again a letdown as Kandurata FC emerged winners defeating SC Maroons 26-10.