India Squad announced for Sri Lanka series

© Getty

Shikhar Dhawan has been named captain for India’s tour of Sri Lanka in July, where they play three ODIs and three T20Is. Bhuvneshwar Kumar has been named Dhawan’s deputy.

With the Test squad away in England at the same time, the BCCI has rewarded several domestic performers with an India call-up.

India’s squad: Shikhar Dhawan (Captain), Prithvi Shaw, Devdutt Padikkal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Suryakumar Yadav, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Nitish Rana, Ishan Kishan (Wicket-keeper), Sanju Samson (Wicket-keeper), Yuzvendra Chahal, Rahul Chahar, K Gowtham, Krunal Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Varun Chakravarthy, Bhuvneshwar Kumar (Vice-captain), Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini, Chetan Sakariya

Net Bowlers: Ishan Porel, Sandeep Warrier, Arshdeep Singh, Sai Kishore, Simarjeet Singh

Karnataka opener Devdutt Padikkal, who has been in rollicking form in white-ball cricket in the domestic circuit as well as the IPL, has been drafted in. Maharashtra and CSK opener Ruturaj Gaikwad has also made the cut.

Read: Sri Lanka cricketers agree to sign tour declaration

Read: Mathews, Karunaratne left out again; Avishka Fernando returns

Read: Wickramasinghe clarifies appointment of Perera as T20I captain

Also back in the national side mix is Prithvi Shaw, who top-scored for Mumbai with a whopping 827 run-tally to lead his team to a Vijay Hazare Trophy triumph earlier this year.