Hatton National Bank produced a dominant 2nd half performance to retain the A Division Mercantile Netball Knockout Championship defeating Expo Lanka 53-30, at the St.Joseph’s College Sports Complex, Maradana.

HNB stun Seylan Bank en-route to championship

Hatton National Bank comfortably defeated Commercial Bank 24-8..

HNB got a bye from the semi-final while the newly promoted Expo Lanka, who won the B Division last year, edged out the Tharjini Sivalingam-less Seylan Bank 42-32 in their semi-final.

It was a keenly contested first quarter as Expo Lanka’s aggressive play looked to have rattled the HNB side, which had former and current Sri Lanka players.

Expo Lanka led by former Youth captain Shereen Nugera had a good defensive game as they ended just a point behind at the end of the first quarter (10-9). HNB slightly pulled away from the competition going into half time 22-17.

Photo Album – Mercantile Netball Knockout Championship – 2017

After a stern talking from former Sri Lanka skipper Sashika Samarasinghe, HNB blazed through the 3rd and 4th quarters. They ended the 3rd quarter 35-21 only allowing four points. Current Sri Lanka skipper Gayani Dissanayake and former Sri Lanka cap Kumarinie Silva was stellar in defence for HNB.

HNB upped the scoring in the 4th quarter through another Sri Lanka player in Darshika Abeywickrama as they added another 18 points to finish off the match 53-30.

Clinical Hong Kong down Sri Lanka; Singapore crowned Champions

Hong Kong produced a clinical 2nd half performance to bag 3rd place with a 58-49 win against..

Other Results

In the B Division final Sampath Bank lost to Citizen Development Bank 36-23 while Kanrich Finance demolished MAS Active Trading 23-3 to win the C Division championship.

In the D Division MAS Shadeline defeated Commercial Credit 12-9 and in the Mixed Division final Seylan Bank defeated Sampath Bank 18-10. Sampath Bank defeated CDB in the mixed division semi-final.


Netball Queen – Kumarinie Silva (HNB)
Best Upcoming Player – Chathuki Imalka (MAS Shadeline)
Best Center Court Player – Gayanjali Amarawansa (HNB)
Best Defensive – Shereen Nugera (Expo Lanka)
Best Shooter – T.Abitha (CDB)
Best Male Player – Anushka Vishwanath (Sampath Bank)
Best Team Spirit – Commenrcial Credit
Best Attire – MAS Active Trading