The defending Premier T20 champions, Badureliya CC revived their current campaign on Wednesday as the third match-day of the AIA Premier T20 Tournament 2015/16 saw all six matches produce results despite evening showers.

The most noteworthy performances of the day came from Geshan Wimaladharma (Badureliya), Shalika Karunanayake (SL Army), Dhananjaya De Silva (Tamil Union), Udara Jayasundera (Ragama) Jeewan Mendis (Tamil Union) and Niroshan Dickwella (NCC) as they plundered cracking half-centuries.

Fast-bowler Sachin Peiris (Badureliya) and Suraj Randiv (Galle) were the only two bowlers who captured 4 wickets apiece for their respective clubs.

Badureliya CC, SL Army SC, NCC, Tamil Union, Ragama and Bloomfield recorded wins as the tournament is heading into the business end.

Badureliya vs SL Ports Authority

The defending champions, Badureliya CC backed up by excellent performances of Geshan Wimaladharma and Sachin Peiris recorded a close 2-run win against SL Ports Authority at NCC grounds.

Left-handed Geshan’s cracking 42-ball 73 including 6 fours and 5 sixes laid the foundation for their total of 170 which they defended heroically as former Benedictine, Sachin Peiris picked up 4 for 22. Fast-bowler Shanaka Shaninda and off-spinner Yashan Samarasinghe shared 5 wickets between them.

Badureliya – 170/6 in 20 overs: Geshan Wimaladharma 73, Sachien Hewawasam 39, Hasantha Fernando 29, Anuk De Alwis 2/25, Harsha Rajapaksa 2/26.

SL Ports Authority – 168/9 in 20 overs: Gihan Rupasinghe 49, Prashan Wickramasinghe 38, Sachin Peiris 4/22, Shanaka Shaninda 3/38, Yashan Samarasinghe 2/25.

Tamil Union vs Colts

Tamil Union prevailed in a rain-curtailed game as they beat Colts CC by 7 runs (D/L method) at NCC grounds.

Dhananjaya De Silva and Jeewan Mendis slammed half-tons to help Tamil Union post 204 on the board. Chasing a daunting 205 runs to win, Josephian-Peterite opening pair of Sadeera Samarawickrama and Shehan Fernando excelled but the rain cut short their chase in the 14th over.

Tamil Union – 204/9 in 20 overs: Dhananjaya De Silva 62, Jeewan Mendis 52, Dilruwan Perera 3/30, Ishan Jayaratne 2/36.

Colts – 126/4 in 13.4 overs: Sadeera Samarawickrama 46, Shehan Fernando 38, Jeewan Mendis 2/24.

SL Army vs CCC

Shalika Karunayake powered his way to a brilliant 39-ball unbeaten 87 as Sri Lanka Army defeated a lackluster CCC outfit by a massive 127 runs at P. Sara Oval grounds.

Batting first, the Soldiers raced to 205 in 8 wickets. Seekkuge Prasanna’s 16-ball 48 and Shalika’s astonishing 87 clamped down their opponents. CCC were bowled out for 78 in their reply with Chathura Damith claiming 3 wickets.

SL Army – 205/8 in 20 overs: Seekkuge Prasanna 48, Shalika Karunanayake 87*, Adeesha Thilanchana 26, Thilina Thushara 2/27, Sachith Pathirana 2/34.

CCC – 78 all out in 15.5 overs: Nisham Mazahir 15, Chathura Damith 3/22, Seekkuge Prasanna 2/11, Janith Chathuranga 2/10.

SSC vs Bloomfield

Bloomfield clinched a 31-run win according to the D/L method as SSC were beaten badly in a rain-hampered low-scoring game at P. Sara Oval grounds.

Bloomfield – 119/9 in 20 overs: Dilhan Cooray 37, Deshan Dias 26, Kasun Madusanka 3/19, Ramesh Mendis 2/8.

SSC – 44/6 in 10.4 overs: Kavindu Kulasekara 12, Dilshan Munaweera 2/7, Upul Indrasiri 2/10.

NCC vs Saracens

Photo Album – NCC V Saracens – AIA Premier T20 Tournament 2015/16

Niroshan Dickwella’s aggressive knock of 79 in 46 balls paved the way for NCC as they beat Saracens by 8 wickets with 31 balls to spare at R. Premadasa Stadium.

Incidentally, this is NCC’s second consecutive victory in 2 games and they are one of the only 3 teams to stay unbeaten thus far in this competition.

Saracens – 125/5 in 20 overs: Umesh Karunarathne 43*, Dushan Hemantha 36*, Chamikara Edirisinghe 2/13.

NCC – 129/2 in 14.5 overs: Niroshan Dickwella 79*, Angelo Perera 23*.

Ragama vs Galle

Udara Jayasundera (56) and Amila Aponso (3 wickets) helped Ragama CC clinch a close 2-run win according to the D/L method in their rain-affected game against Galle CC at R. Premadasa Stadium.

After the massive 86-run opening stand between Udara Jayasundera and Janith Liyanage, Ragama CC lost their way but came back strongly to win the game and stay unbeaten.

Ragama – 150 all out in 19.2 overs: Udara Jayasundera 56, Janith Liyanage 36, Suraj Randiv 4/25, Chamod Piumal 3/14.

Galle – 68/4 in 9 overs: Rumesh Buddhika 22, Amila Aponso 3/14.