Tornadoes trump Athapaththu’s Falcons to win FairBreak Invitational title

FairBreak Invitational 2022


Tornadoes, led by Thailand’s Chanida Sutthiruang with the ball and New Zealand’s Sophie Devine with the bat, completed a comprehensive 8 wicket win over the Falcons in the Final of the inaugural FairBreak Invitational competition.

The Falcons had depended largely on their openers Danni Wyatt and Chamari Athapaththu during the tournament, but unfortunately neither could get going in the all-important final, with Wyatt falling in the 2nd over and Athapaththu following soon after for 9. This was Athapaththu’s 1st single figure score in the tournament, where she finished as top run-getter. Sutthiruang had a dream start with the ball for the Tornadoes, accounting for both in her 3 overs.

Suzie Bates too fell cheaply, and the Falcons only managed to post a respectable 154, thanks to an incredible 37-ball 67 from Protea Marizanne Kapp.

Tornadoes never looked in trouble in the chase with Devine and Sterr Kalis putting on 72 for the 1st wicket. Another 50-run partnership between Kalis and skipper Stephanie Taylor ensured the win.

Brief Scores

Falcons 151/4 (20) Marizanne Kapp 67*, Marko Hill 30*, Chanida Sutthiruang 2/19

Tornadoes 152/2 (19.1) Sophie Devine 51, Sterr Kalis 44, Sornnarin Tippoch 1/30, Marizanne Kapp 1/33

Result – Tornadoes won by 8 wickets

The third-place playoff between Barmy Army and Spirit was a high scoring one, with 2 centurions from either side. Sophia Dunkley’s incredible 73-ball 123 for the Spirit eclipsed Deandra Dottin’s 111 off 53 as the Spirit chased down 182 in 18.5 overs.

The inaugural FairBreak Invitational, he world’s first privately funded tournament in women’s cricket history, was a resounding success, featuring 90 players from 35 different countries, including 40 from Full-Member countries and 50 from associates.

Sri Lanka’s Chamari Athapaththu finished as top run-getter 313 runs, while England’s Sophie Ecclestone topped the bowling charts with a whopping 17 wickets.

Team of the Tournament:

  1. Chamari Athapaththu (SRI) – Falcons
  2. Dannie Wyatt (ENG) – Falcons
  3. Sterr Kalis (NED) – Tornadoes
  4. Deandra Dottin (WI) – Barmy Army
  5. Nicola Carey (AUS) – Spirit
  6. Hayley Mathews (WI) – Warriors
  7. Georgia Redmayne (AUS) – Warriors
  8. Sita Rana Magar (NEP) – Tornadoes
  9. Sophie Ecclestone (ENG) – Spirit
  10. Rumana Ahmed (BAN) – Barmy Army
  11. Winifred Duraisingham (MAL) – Tornadoes
  12. Ayabonga Khaka (SA) – Spirit
  13. Anju Gurung (BHU) – Falcons